21 BDSM Books Better Than Fifty Shades of Grey That You Should Read Instead

If you’re looking for BDSM books that explore this popular romance category, then you are in the right place. On this book list, I’ve included my favorite BDSM books as well as some of the most popular titles that readers couldn’t put down.

Each of these books gives you a look into a different aspect of the practice but they all deserve a place on your TBR list if you love erotic romance.

*Disclosure: This post may include affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

My Favorite BDSM Books

Desperate Measures by Katee Robert is a BDSM book like Fifty Shades of Grey worth reading.

Desperate Measures
by Katee Robert

Once upon a time, I was a sheltered princess. On the night Jafar takes everything from my father, he offers me a bargain—walk with my freedom and nothing else, or attempt to best him and regain my inheritance. In my arrogance, I play right into his hands. Now Jafar owns me, body and soul.

We fight during the day, but when night comes, we play out every fantasy I’ve never allowed myself to admit to having. He sees to my every need, no matter how carnal or extravagant. It’s almost enough for me to be happy.

But a gilded cage is still a prison, and I’ll do anything to obtain my freedom—even betray the man I’m falling for.

Robert gives a Disney princess “retelling” in this BDSM book that gives a modern look at the story if Jasmine actually ended up with Jafar.

It explores the development of a Dom/sub relationship between these two within the context of Jasmine exploring her interests. It’s a compelling story and one hot book that kicks off an entire series of retellings.

Beautiful Bastard is a BDSM book like Fifty Shades of Grey worth reading.

Beautiful Bastard
by Christina Lauren

Whip-smart, hardworking, and on her way to an MBA, Chloe Mills has only one problem: her boss, Bennett Ryan. He’s exacting, blunt, inconsiderate–and completely irresistible.

Bennett has returned to Chicago from France to take a vital role in his family’s massive media business. He never expected that the assistant who’d been helping him from abroad was the gorgeous, innocently provocative–completely infuriating–creature he now has to see every day.

Despite the rumors, he’s never been one for a workplace hookup. But Chloe’s so tempting he’s willing to bend the rules–or outright smash them–if it means he can have her. All over the office. 

This book is so incredibly popular and with good reason as it’s one of Christina Lauren’s best.

It has the perfect enemies to lovers vibe within an office romance where two strong-willed people come together and the chemistry is off the charts.

While Bennett and Chloe don’t have a traditional dom/sub relationship, if you like alpha males who say and get what they want, then it’s a must-read.

The Duke I Tempted is a BDSM book like Fifty Shades of Grey worth reading.

The Duke I Tempted
by Scarlett Peckham

Having finally redeemed his family name, the Duke of Westmead now needs to produce an heir. Which means he must find a wife who won’t discover his secret craving to spend his nights on his knees.

Poppy Cavendish has never wanted to marry. Her only desire has been to build a successful botany business to keep her independence.

But when her reputation is ruined, Westmead proposes a marriage of convenience which she cannot refuse.

Looking for a historical BDSM book? Then this is it, and one of the best erotic historical romance novels.

Peckham pulled me in with her fantastic writing and a wonderful slow burn romance that I didn’t want to put down.

This book looks at a man who has a specific need that he keeps hidden but which ultimately comes out to the woman he’s falling for.

I loved Poppy’s reaction and how they ended up growing closer together because of it from an initial marriage of convenience. Check out my book review of The Duke I Tempted.

Owned By Fate is one of the best BDSM books worth reading if you like romance books like Fifty Shades of Grey.

Owned by Fate
by Tessa Bailey

Journalist Caroline Preston can’t believe she set foot into Serve, New York City’s hottest BDSM club in the name of work. She’s determined not to like anything about this world but then she meets Jonah.

As the owner of Serve, Jonah Briggs doesn’t leave his post for just anyone. But when he sees Caroline, his only thought is that he wants her.  

Caroline can’t help but fall under Jonah’s spell but she’s not about to risk her family’s reputation by extending her time with him past one night, no matter how much she craves more.  

I loved Jonah in this book. He was the perfect alpha and despite others judging him for it, he didn’t change.

Caroline was a newbie to the BDSM club scene, so I’d recommend this one for people who want to check out a BDSM book that isn’t too intense.

The Farthest Edge is a BDSM book like Fifty Shades of Grey worth reading.

The Farthest Edge
by Kristen Ashley

Branch doesn’t exist. Living off the grid, he’s looking for a way to forget his past and the guilt that plagues him. But no woman has ever been able to bring him to the edge he craves.

After a traumatic experience of her own, Evangeline stepped away from the decadent world of the Honey Club. But when she gets Branch’s offer—to play without boundaries or commitments—it’s too tempting for her to refuse.

As their passion ignites, Evangeline and Branch push each other to their farthest limit, fulfilling their darkest desires while falling harder and deeper than they ever imagined.
 

This is another pick if you like reading BDSM books featuring a Domme and her sub. I enjoyed the storyline itself in this one.

Branch’s backstory in particular helped me to understand this man’s kink and how he craved one area in his life that he could escape into and give up control.

Priceless is a BDSM book like Fifty Shades of Grey worth reading.

Priceless
by Miranda Silver

Christina is a junior in college whose life took a turn for the worse. She quit the cheer team, dropped her boyfriend, has grades in the tank and is hooked on uppers. Oh, and she’s now broke.

Patrick Caruthers, the senior with the icy stare only for her offers her a proposition she can’t really refuse, can she? Three nights a week he’ll pay her to be in his bed, at his mercy.

This is a new adult BDSM book with both characters in college which gives it a unique twist and story angle. It also explores humiliation as someone’s kink so if that intrigues you, give this one a try.

Related: Kinky Romance Books to Devour

Asking For It is a BDSM book like fifty shades of grey worth reading.

Asking for It
by Lilah Pace

Graduate student Vivienne Charles is afraid of her own desires—ashamed to admit that she fantasizes about being taken by a man who will claim her completely and without mercy.

When the magnetic, mysterious Jonah Marks learns her secret, he makes an offer that stuns her: they will remain near-strangers to each other, and meet in secret so that he can fulfill her fantasy.

Their arrangement is twisted but incredible. And—despite their attempts to stay apart—soon their emotions are bound together as tightly as the rope around Vivienne’s wrists.

This book looks at playing out a fantasy of both participants. Be forewarned that this book should have many trigger warnings because though all acts are consensual they depict non-consensual acts.

This BDSM book does however illustrate the importance of discussing scenes beforehand and the use of a safe word.

American Queen is one of the best BDSM books worth reading. Check out the entire list on She Reads Romance Books.

American Queen
by Sierra Simone

I knew him as Ash, the soldier I once kissed in a circle of broken glass. I haven’t forgotten his broken promises and forbidden desires. But the country knows him as the leader of the free world, Mr. President.

Desperate to have me, Ash sends his best friend Embry to bring me to him. He doesn’t know about the secrets we also keep. Our own tragedies. Our own cravings. Soon, I find myself caught between past and present, pleasure and pain—and the two men who long for each other as much as they long for me. And as a battle and betrayal press ever closer, we tumble headlong into a passionate love affair that will change the world.

Let me tell you that Simone’s New Camelot series is FIRE and it all begins with this book where you get not one but two Dom/sub relationships that tumble together into one polyamorous relationship. If you haven’t yet read it, it deserves a spot on your TBR list!

Related: Best Romance Series That Would Make Amazing TV Shows

Popular BDSM Books to Explore

Bound is a BDSM book like Fifty Shades of Grey worth reading.

Bound
by Lorelei James

Former small-town girl Amery Hardwick is living her dream as a graphic designer in Denver, Colorado. When her friend signs up for a self-defense class, Amery joins her for support. That’s where she meets him.

Ronin Black, owner of the dojo, is so drawn to Amery that he takes over her training—in public and in private.

The enigmatic Ronin pushes Amery’s boundaries from the start, and with each new tryst, Amery becomes addicted to the pleasure and to him. But when Amery senses Ronin is hiding something, she questions her total trust in him, despite the undeniable thrill of his possession

I love how BDSM books have various alpha males as lead characters but I’ve yet to read a book that stars a martial artist!

This book looks at the Japanese practice, Shibari, that uses ropes for bondage tying. So if you’re into ropes or want to explore this type of bondage, check out this book.

Betrayal is a BDSM book like Fifty Shades of Grey worth reading.

Betrayal
by Aleatha Romig

Alexandria Collins has one week to live carefree—no ghosts of her past or pressures of her future haunting her. Reinventing herself as “Charli,” she is knocked off her feet by a mysterious man who brings her pleasure like she never imagined.

With her heart at stake, she forgets that decisions made in the dark of night reappear in the bright light of day.

Lennox “Nox” Demetri is wealthy, confident, and decisive–he knows what he wants. From the first time he sees Charli at an exclusive resort, he knows he wants her. Although he is usually the one to make the rules, together they agree on one: One week. No more.

Alexandria is on vacation before starting law school and spends one week exploring her limits with a mysterious stranger. Sign me up!

This is the first book in a series so should you love it, you’ll be onto the next books.

Rush by Maya Banks is a BDSM book like Fifty Shades of Grey that romance book readers should check out.

Rush
by Maya Banks

When Gabe Hamilton saw Mia Crestwell walk into the ballroom for his hotel’s grand opening, he shouldn’t be having thoughts about his best friend’s little sister.

Gabe has starred in Mia’s fantasies more than once. So what if he’s fourteen years older? She’s an adult now, and there’s no reason not to act on her most secret desires.

As Gabe pulls her into his provocative world, she realizes there’s a lot she doesn’t know about him or how exacting his demands can be.

Their relationship is intense and obsessive, but as they cross the line from secret odyssey to something deeper, their affair runs the risk of being exposed—and vulnerable to a betrayal far more intimate than either expected.

This is a book for those who like the rich alpha male who likes to “own” his submissive. A man with demands who gets what he wants, Gabe is Mr. Dominant if that’s what you’re looking for in a BDSM book.

In Flight is a BDSM book like Fifty Shades of Grey that romance book readers should check out.

In Flight
by RK Lilley

When reserved flight attendant Bianca gets one look at billionaire hotel owner James Cavendish, she loses all of her hard-won composure.

For a girl who can easily juggle a tray of champagne flutes at 35,000 feet in three inch heels, she finds herself shockingly weak-kneed from their first encounter.

But what tempts her like never before is the dominant pull he seems to have over her from the moment they meet, and the promise of pleasure and pain that she reads in his eyes.

Cue the similarities in this book like Fifty Shades of Grey which has a billionaire introducing a young virgin into the BDSM scene.

Just because she’s a virgin doesn’t mean that James takes things slow, but you do get to see Bianca struggle with her interest and curiosity in BDSM.

Read These Books with Kindle Unlimited!

Lucky for you, many of these romance books are available through Kindle Unlimited.

Are you taking advantage of this opportunity?

With Kindle Unlimited you can read as many romance books as you want at the click of a button.

Join today and get busy reading.

The Professional is a BDSM book like Fifty Shades of Grey that romance book readers should check out.

The Professional
by Kresley Cole

Mafiya enforcer Aleksandr “The Siberian” Sevastyan’s loyalty to his boss is unwavering, until he meets the boss’s long-lost daughter. Ordered to protect her, Aleksandr will do anything to possess her as well–on his own wicked terms.

Grad student Natalie Porter has barely recovered from her first encounter with the breathtaking Siberian when he whisks her away to Russia, thrusting her into a world of extreme wealth and wanton pleasures.

While escaping an enemy’s reach, the two lovers tempt each other’s boundaries to discover whether their darkest–and most forbidden–fantasies really can come true.

This is a popular read featuring a young virgin and a man who’s deeply embedded in the mafia underworld as an enforcer. If you like BDSM books that are also mafia romances then give this one a go.

Marriage Games is a BDSM book like Fifty Shades of Grey that romance book readers should check out.

Marriage Games
by CD Reiss

Thirty days. That’s all Adam Steinbeck demands of his wife. Thirty days in a remote cottage, doing everything he demands. After that, he’ll sign her divorce papers and give her complete ownership of their company.

That’s how long he has to rediscover the man he once was. The Dominant Master he hid when he fell in love with her five years ago.

She wants the business they built badly enough to go to the cottage for a month. Cut off ties to the world and do his bidding. She can submit to him with her body, but her heart will never yield.

I love that this story starts with a marriage that is failing. If these two can find their way back to one another then it’s because Adam is going to live authentically as his dominant self and Diana is going to discover who she is and what she wants.

It ends with a cliffhanger as it’s a duet so be forewarned!

This Man is a BDSM book like Fifty Shades of Grey that romance book readers should check out.

This Man
by Jodi Ellen Malpas

Young interior designer Ava O’Shea has no idea what awaits her at the Manor. A run-of-the-mill consultation with a stodgy country gent seems likely, but what Ava finds instead is Jesse Ward–a devastatingly handsome, utterly confident, pleasure-seeking playboy who knows no boundaries.

Ava doesn’t want to be attracted to this man, and yet she can’t control the overwhelming desire that he stirs in her.

She knows that her heart will never survive him and her instinct is telling her to run, but Jesse is not willing to let her go. He wants her and is determined to have her.

This is another popular book that you should pick up if you like the alpha male who is very into control. Of course, it wouldn’t be complete without the young heroine that he must have.

Ten years later, Jodi Ellen Malpas is now releasing This Woman, told from Jesse’s point of view so check it out after reading this entire series.

Wicked Ties is a BDSM book like Fifty Shades of Grey that romance book readers should check out.

Wicked Ties
by Shayla Black

Morgan O’Malley has seen a lot of kinky things as the hostess of a cable bedroom talk show. But she’s never met a man like Jack Cole before.

A self-proclaimed dominant, he’s as alpha as a male can get—and good for Morgan to have around when an obsessed stalker ratchets up his attempts to get to her.

Though Jack is a bodyguard, Morgan feels anything but safe in his presence because, slowly and seductively, Jack is bringing her deepest fantasies to the surface. And when he bends her to his will, what’s more shocking than her surrender is how much she enjoys it—and starts to crave his masterful touch.

A willing player in Jack’s games, Morgan knows that his motives aren’t pure, but she has no idea how personal they are.

Shayla Black knows erotic romance and I like that this BDSM book is a bit different in bringing in some suspense to the story and the need for a bodyguard.

I also love how Morgan and Jack meet on a cable talk show 😊. If Black is writing it, I know it’s going to be a hot one!

How to Bang a Billionaire is a BDSM book like Fifty Shades of Grey that romance book readers should check out.

How to Bang a Billionaire
by Alexis Hall

Arden St. Ives has no idea what he’s doing at Oxford, let alone any idea of what he’s doing after graduation but then he meets Caspian Hart. Turns out, he’s an alum who’s brilliant, beautiful and a billionaire.

It’s impossible not to be captivated by someone like that. But Caspian Hart makes his own rules. And he has a lot of them. About when I can be with him. What I can do with him. And when he’ll be through with me.

I’m good at doing what I’m told in the bedroom. The rest of the time, not so much. And now that Caspian’s shown me glimpses of the man behind the billionaire, I know it’s him I want. Except that might be the one thing he doesn’t have the power to give me.

If you’re looking for a MM romance book then check this one out. You’ve got the naïve, younger man who becomes captivated by the emotionally detached billionaire with a past.

It delves into the Dom/sub relationship but does end on a cliffhanger as it’s part of a three-book series.

Dark Notes is one of the best BDSM books worth reading. Check out the entire list on She Reads Romance Books.

Dark Notes
by Pam Godwin

They call me a slut. Maybe I am. Sometimes I do things I despise. Sometimes men take without asking. But I have a musical gift, only a year left of high school, and a plan. With one obstacle.

Emeric Marceaux doesn’t just take. He seizes my will power and bangs it like a dark note.
When he commands me to play, I want to give him everything. I kneel for his punishments, tremble for his touch, and risk it all for our stolen moments. He’s my obsession, my master, my music. And my teacher.

Pam Godwin doesn’t shy away from the taboo or the steaminess with her books and if you like teacher student romances then this is the BDSM book for you!

Release Me is one of the best BDSM books worth reading. Check out the entire list on She Reads Romance Books.

Release Me
by J. Kenner

Wealthy, powerful, and exceedingly dangerous, Damien Stark wants to own me. Or at least my likeness. He’s offered me one million dollars to pose for a nude portrait that will become the diamond of his private art collection. And I need the money. Bad.

But it soon becomes obvious that this deal is too good to be true, and that Mr. Stark wants much more from me than I ever planned on giving. Except now I just might want him as much as he wants me. Some say this game of seduction could lead to my demise, but what if it’s worth the risk?

Read this for a lighter BDSM book but one that is still full of steam! If you love books that pit the wealthy alpha male with the young girl caught in his web, you won’t be disappointed with this book and the entire Stark Saga.

One Night With Him is one of the best BDSM books worth reading. Check out the entire list on She Reads Romance Books.

One Night With Him
by CD Reiss

Jonathan Drazen’s my billionaire boss. Or he was, until he fired me. Now he wants to make a bet.
If I win, he’ll give me enough money to not care about this waitressing job. If he wins, I’m completely and utterly his for the night. Since a bad breakup, I’ve sworn off men, but I’ll take this wager. He’s hot enough to break some rules over. Besides, he’s still hung up on his ex-wife. There’s no chance he’ll want more after the sun comes up.

Just one night, and I walk away from his dark past and his hot demands. I shouldn’t walk away in the morning though. I should run right now. Turns out, when Jonathan Drazen wants something, he gets it, and after our one night, he wants me.

What it is about billionaire romance books that make BDSM books SO HOT?! This is the story of aspiring singer Monica Faulkner and hotelier and real estate magnate Jonathan Drazen who controls her pleasure. Buckle up for this wild ride!

Praise is one of the best BDSM books worth reading. Check out the entire list on She Reads Romance Books.

Praise
by Sara Cate

Broken down by her emotionally neglectful ex, all Charlie Underwood wants is someone to tell her she’s good enough. Then she stumbles into a new job with a boss who brings her to her knees―literally.

As an owner of the Salacious Players’ Club, Emerson Grant knows exactly what he wants and isn’t shy about his particular tastes. But when he mistakes Charlie for a candidate to be his new submissive instead of his son’s ex-girlfriend, he immediately tries to correct the situation. He offers Charlie a job as his secretary and nothing more.

Yet now that Charlie has seen a glimpse of what can happen when she’s honest about what she wants, she makes it clear that all she wants is Emerson. He might be twice her age and her ex-boyfriend’s dad, but he’s also the only man who can give her everything she desires.

Read this for an introduction into Cate’s Salacious Club series where everyone explores their kink. In this story focuses on a Dom/sub relationship as well as praise kink so if that’s your jam, this is the one to check out.

Related Book Lists:

Pin This:

Check out this must-read list of BDSM books like Fifty Shades of Grey that you'll want to read instead from romance book blogger, She Reads Romance Books.
Leslie Murphy is the owner and writer of She Reads Romance Books.

Why Trust She Reads Romance Books?

Leslie is the founder, writer, and producer of She Reads Romance Books (and the She Reads Romance Books Podcast), an online book community focused on romance books and the readers who love them because life is better with a love story.

Leslie reads 150 romance books a year and has been called a "book expert" by CNN. Reading romance is her passion and she cultivates her book lists with the best books worth reading in the genre. Leslie graduated magna cum laude from Davidson College where she honed her writing skills and also holds two Master's degrees. Join her community in the She Reads Romance Books Reader Lounge.

Join the She Reads Romance Books Book Club!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

About | Work With Me | Subscribe | Blogging | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Disclaimer

She Reads Romance Books helps romance book lovers find their next book boyfriend because life is better with a love story.