10 Books Like Funny Story to Read Next to Get Your Fix

If you loved Emily Henry’s latest romance, then you’re going to want to check out this list of books like Funny Story that you’re going to want to read next.

These books give you similar storylines to Funny Story to give you all the feels. Choose between fake relationship romance books where the characters fake date to make their ex-boyfriend and/or ex-girlfriend jealous like Daphne and Miles.

Or grab a roommates-to-lovers romance or a book where love is found between two characters who have given up on the concept of love.

These are my recommendations for the best books like Funny Story to read if you’re not quite ready to let go of this stellar romance book.

*Disclosure: This post may include affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

Books Like Funny Story With a Fake Relationship

Blind Side is a fake relationship romance book like Funny Story worth reading.

Blind Side
by Kandi Steiner

Clay Johnson is a star of the football team and used to be the easiest of all the players for me to wrangle as the Public Relations Coordinator, but after a nasty breakup with his high school sweetheart, he’s a mess.

We meet to discuss his behavior and review media relations standards. But when he witnesses how I fall to pieces in front of my guitar-toting crush, he cooks up an absurd plan to get me noticed and make his ex jealous.

What he doesn’t realize is that this bookworm is a virgin, so to sweeten the deal, I convince him to teach me everything he knows in bed. But the more I come unraveled at the hands of Clay Johnson, the more trouble I have discerning what’s fake and what’s undoubtedly real.

Why it’s like Funny Story: This is one of my favorite fake dating romance books where one character is trying to make an ex jealous like Daphne and Miles hoped to do with their fake dating pictures on Instagram.

An added bonus to this romance are the dating and bedroom lessons that Clay gives Giana which got pretty steamy! 😊

Read Blind Side: Amazon

Right Man Right Time is a fake relationship romance book like Funny Story worth reading.

Right Man Right Time
by Meghan Quinn

Running into your ex is never ideal. Running into your ex who is now dating your nemesis is a literal nightmare.

That’s how I found myself in a sheer panic, reaching for the closest guy at the bar and kissing him. The only problem is, when I tried to walk away after thanking him for his help, he stopped me with three life-changing words . . .“You owe me.”

That’s how I found myself, a college girl, in a fake relationship with a professional hockey player ten years older than me.

At first it was easy. He helped me with my internship. I helped keep his ex away from him. But now my feelings are involved and even though I kissed the right man at the right time, I’m worried he’s just waiting for the clock to run out.

Why it’s like Funny Story: This is another fake relationship romance with an awesome meet cute between college student and hockey stud. Taters is definitely reeling from the trauma of a failed relationship like Miles but this book gets super steamy because Ollie is a girl who has no shame going after what she wants and I loved that about her.

Read Right Man Right Time: Amazon

Hothead is a fake relationship romance book like Funny Story worth reading.

Hothead
by Stella Rhys

I was drunk-dialing my ex the night I met him. He was incredibly rude and we got off to a bad start but when the tabloids interpret our sparring as something more his agent suggests we shack up for the summer.

It’s an alleged “win-win.” I need to prove to my ex that I’m fine. Drew needs to prove to his team that he’s stable.  Our fights are real, our kisses are fake, and thanks to the nonstop heat between us, I’m starting to mix up all my signs.

Why it’s like Funny Story: This is one of my favorite romance books of all time because the chemistry between Drew and Evie is so HOT! I loved that they entered this fake relationship with different goals but feel so hard for one another.

Drew is one of those characters who doesn’t believe in love and it was so wonderful seeing Evie change is mind!

Read Hothead: Amazon

Spite Club is a fake relationship romance book like Funny Story worth reading.

Spite Club
by Julie Kriss

Evie and Nick don’t have the greatest of meet cutes when they both walk in on their partners cheating on them with each other. With Evie’s boyfriend screwing Nick’s girlfriend, the two decide that the best way to get revenge is to pretend to date each other and maybe enjoy each other in the process.

Nick is rude and rebellious and Evie is a good girl with goals to meet but the more time they spend with each other, the more they might just risk their hearts.

Why it’s like Funny Story: Evie and Nick can totally commiserate with Daphne and Miles and their predicament in Funny Story because they too were dumped for each other’s exes.

It’s an incredible fake relationship romance but an even better opposites attract love story because Evie is a good girl with a plan for her life while Nick has no plan, no job and a complete A-hole. It’s one of my favorites where love is found after being cheated on.

Read Spite Club: Amazon

Hot Revenge for Hire is a fake relationship romance book like Funny Story worth reading.

Hot Revenge for Hire
by Lili Valente

Sebastian aka Bash is the one-man show and CEO Magnificent B Consulting where he helps women get revenge the deserve against their crummy exes.

He has a trusty virtual assistant, Penny, who he’s never met until she shows up on his doorstep needing his services. Bash may pride myself on being a pro, but pretending to be her lover soon leads to so much more.

Why it’s like Funny Story: Talk about needing a fake relationship to get back at your ex. Penny has to attend her mother’s wedding but she doesn’t want to do so alone because her mother is marrying Penny’s ex. Yikes!

If you like fake relationship romances with off-the-charts chemistry and one awesome dirty talker then this is the next book for you after Funny Story.

Read Hot Revenge for Hire: Amazon

The Spanish Love Deception is a fake relationship romance book like Funny Story worth reading.

The Spanish Love Deception
by Elena Armas

Catalina Martín desperately needs a date to her sister’s wedding. Especially since her little white lie about her American boyfriend has spiraled out of control. Now everyone she knows—including her ex and his fiancée—will be there and eager to meet him.

She only has four weeks to find someone willing to aid in her deception. Enter Aaron Blackford—her tall, handsome, condescending colleague—who surprisingly offers to step in. But Catalina is desperate, and as the wedding draws nearer, she begins to realize he might not be as terrible in the real world as he is at the office.

Why it’s like Funny Story: This is another fake relationship romance about saving face in front of a ex, however instead of sad roommates falling for each other it’s an amazing, enemies to lovers story between colleagues at the office.

While a different forced proximity situation, it’s a fantastic and popular romance you MUST read if you haven’t already.

Read The Spanish Love Deception: Amazon

Books Like Funny Story Where Roommates Fall in Love

The Flatshare is a fake relationship romance book like Funny Story worth reading.

The Flatshare
by Beth O’Leary

After a bad breakup, Tiffy Moore needs a cheap place to live, fast. Desperation makes her answer an ad for a flatshare. Leon, a night shift worker, will take the apartment during the day, and Tiffy can have it nights and weekends. He’ll only ever be there when she’s at the office. In fact, they’ll never even have to meet.

As Tiffy and Leon start writing each other notes, the two opposites soon become friends. And then maybe more. But falling in love with your roommate is probably a terrible idea…especially if you’ve never met.

Why it’s like Funny Story: If you’re desperate for another roommates to lovers romance like Funny Story then I cannot recommend The Flatshare enough. It is one of my favorite romance books because of the slow burn love story that unfolds between Tiffy and Leon as they write notes back and forth to one another. It’s such a clever and well-done story not to be missed.

Check out my book review of The Flatshare.

Read The Flatshare: Amazon

The Roommate Pact is a fake relationship romance book like Funny Story worth reading.

The Roommate Pact
by Allison Ashley

The proposition is simple: if ER nurse Claire Harper and her roommate, firefighter Graham Scott, are still single by the time they’re forty, they’ll take the proverbial plunge together…as friends with benefits.

Just as things begin to heat up way before the proposed deadline, Graham’s injured in a serious rock climbing accident—and he needs Claire’s help to heal. She’ll do whatever it takes to nurse him back to health…even if it means moving in to Graham’s bed. But with this no-strings arrangement taking a complicated turn, keeping “for now” from turning into “forever” isn’t as easy as they’d planned.

Why it’s like Funny Story: This is another roommates-to-lovers romance like Funny Story as it has two opposites falling for one another when they least expected to. A bit of forced proximity action always helps to move things along and Graham’s injury gives them the nudge they both need in this must-read.

Read The Roommate Pact: Amazon

Not My Match is a fake relationship romance book like Funny Story worth reading.

Not My Match
by Ilsa Madden-Mills

Homeless and heartbreakingly innocent, Giselle Riley walks into my penthouse and chaos follows.

I shouldn’t have invited the girl genius to live with me, but it’s clear she needs my help—not only for a place to stay but in finding real love.Too bad she’s a twenty-four-year-old virgin and I’m a bad boy wide receiver.

Instead, I’m her matchmaking service, no matter how jealous it makes me when I tag along on her dates. But I can keep my self-control. No way will I give in to everything inside me that dreams of a girl like her in my world.

Why it’s like Funny Story: This is another opposites attract, roommates to lovers romance as who would think that a physicist Ph.D. student would fall for the hot football player? I loved that it’s told in dual POV so you can understand what is going on in both of their heads!

Check out my book review of Not My Match.

Read Not My Match: Amazon

Books Like Funny Story With Characters Who Don’t Believe in Love

Happily Never After is a fake relationship romance book like Funny Story worth reading.

Happily Never After
by Lynne Painter

When Sophie Steinbeck finds out just before her nuptials that her fiancé has cheated yet again, she desperately wants to call it off. But because her future father-in-law is her dad’s cutthroat boss, she enlists the help of a professional objector, whose purpose is to show up at weddings and proclaim “I object!”

After learning more about his job, Sophie teams up with Max and the two love cynics start going from wedding to wedding, while trying to ignore their off the charts chemistry. But when a groom-to-be hires Sophie to object at a wedding that involves the woman who broke Max’s heart, she realizes that she may have fallen hard for her partner in crime.

Why it’s like Funny Story: This is a book like Funny Story because both characters have been burned by love in the past and really don’t see them falling into it every again or any time soon. Oh how that changes!

While not roommates, Sophie and Max team up as wedding objects and it’s so much fun to see them figure out their thoughts on love while falling for each other.

Check out my book review of Happily Never After.

Read Happily Never After: Amazon

Related Posts:

Pin This:

If you loved Emily Henry's latest then you'll want to check out this list of books like Funny Story if you're looking for more great books just like it.
Leslie Murphy is the owner and writer of She Reads Romance Books.

Why Trust She Reads Romance Books?

Leslie is the founder, writer, and producer of She Reads Romance Books (and the She Reads Romance Books Podcast), an online book community focused on romance books and the readers who love them because life is better with a love story.

Leslie reads 150 romance books a year and has been called a "book expert" by CNN. Reading romance is her passion and she cultivates her book lists with the best books worth reading in the genre. Leslie graduated magna cum laude from Davidson College where she honed her writing skills and also holds two Master's degrees. Join her community in the She Reads Romance Books Reader Lounge.

Join the She Reads Romance Books Book Club!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

About | Work With Me | Subscribe | Blogging | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Disclaimer

She Reads Romance Books helps romance book lovers find their next book boyfriend because life is better with a love story.