15 Books Like Fourth Wing to Get Your Fantasy Fix

Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros has captivated me and fantasy romance book fans alike so readers are now asking “What books like Fourth Wing should I read next?!”

If you too have read and loved Fourth Wing and are on the hunt for MORE books like Fourth Wing then I have the book list for you!

Below are the best books like Fourth Wing that will cure your book hangover and give you more of what you love about the Fourth Wing series.

From strong, underestimated heroines to fiery dragons to enemies to lovers stories, these books like Fourth Wing have it all! Read them all before tuning into the upcoming Fourth Wing TV series!

*Disclosure: This post may include affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

The Best Books Like Fourth Wing

A Court of Thorns and Roses is one of the best books like Fourth Wing. Check out the entire list of books like Fourth Wing on She Reads Romance Books.

A Court of Thorns and Roses
by Sarah J. Maas

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre takes the life of a wolf in the woods, a terrifying creature arrives to demand retribution.

Dragged to a treacherous magical land she knows about only from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not truly a beast, but one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled her world.

At least, he’s not a beast all the time.

As she adapts to her new home, her feelings for the faerie, Tamlin, transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae.

But something is not right in the faerie lands. An ancient, wicked shadow is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it, or doom Tamlin-and his world-forever.

You can draw a lot of parallels between Fourth Wing and Sarah J. Maas popular fantasy romance, A Court of Thorns and Roses.

Feyre is another strong heroine, like Violet, who is underestimated by the various players in the world of the Fae.

She must attempt and endure several difficult tasks to save the one she loves and yet no one believes she will escape with her life or his.

After reading ACOTAR, you’ll also want to read A Court of Mist and Fury which is another book like Fourth Wing that draws on the enemies to lovers element.

I loved how Rhys in this book saw Feyre for who she really was just like Xaden saw Violet and pushed her to be her best without coddling her. So good!

Related: A Court of Thorns and Roses Series Guide

From Blood and Ash is one of the best books like Fourth Wing. Check out the entire list of books like Fourth Wing on She Reads Romance Books.

From Blood and Ash
by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Chosen from birth to usher in a new era, Poppy’s life has never been her own. The life of the Maiden is solitary. Never to be touched. Never to be looked upon. Never to be spoken to. Never to experience pleasure.

Waiting for the day of her Ascension, she would rather be with the guards, fighting back the evil that took her family, than preparing to be found worthy by the gods. But the choice has never been hers.

The entire kingdom’s future rests on Poppy’s shoulders, something she’s not even quite sure she wants for herself.

Because a Maiden has a heart. And a soul. And longing.

And when Hawke, a golden-eyed guard honor bound to ensure her Ascension, enters her life, destiny and duty become tangled with desire and need.

He incites her anger, makes her question everything she believes in, and tempts her with the forbidden.

Forsaken by the gods and feared by mortals, a fallen kingdom is rising once more, determined to take back what they believe is theirs through violence and vengeance.

And as the shadow of those cursed draws closer, the line between what is forbidden and what is right becomes blurred.

Poppy is not only on the verge of losing her heart and being found unworthy by the gods, but also her life when every blood-soaked thread that holds her world together begins to unravel.

If you love the push and pull between Xaden and Violet then you’ll love the same pull and chemistry between Poppy and Casteel in From Blood and Ash.

From their very first meeting, Violet knew that Xaden would end her the first chance he got, just as Casteel is ready to use Poppy for his own purposes in From Blood and Ash.

If you’re looking for another book like Fourth Wing that has an amazing storyline, epic worldbuilding, amazing chemistry between characters that begins with an enemies to lovers plotline then this is the book for you!

Check out my book review of From Blood and Ash.

Related: From Blood and Ash Series: The Complete Guide

The Hunger Games is one of the best books like Fourth Wing. Check out the entire list of books like Fourth Wing on She Reads Romance Books.

The Hunger Games
by Suzanne Collins

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts.

The Capitol keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight until only one is left standing on live TV.

Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen regards it as a choice to sacrifice her life when she steps forward to take her sister’s place in the Games.

But Katniss has been close to losing her life before-and survival, for her, is second nature.

Still, if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

The Hunger Games is another book like Fourth Wing if you loved the competition of the Rider Quadrant in Fourth Wing and how it really was a dog-eat-dog world where it’s everyone out for themselves.

Violet’s life was on the line every single day whether it was training with fellow riders or even attempting to ride a dragon and Katniss faces a similar fate when she enters the Hunger Games.

The Hunger Games book and The Hunger Games movie were runaway hits. Let’s just hope that Hollywood makes a Fourth Wing movie as well for this epic fantasy!

Throne of Glass is one of the best books like Fourth Wing. Check out the entire list of books like Fourth Wing on She Reads Romance Books.

Throne of Glass
by Sarah J. Maas

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince.

Prince Dorian offers her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council.

If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom.

Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life.

Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her… but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants meets their end quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the culprit is before she becomes a victim?

As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

Throne of Glass is another young adult fantasy romance book like Fourth Wing to read if you like strong heroines.

Celaena not only endured years in a prison camp, she is now forced to compete in a series of eliminations like Violet to earn her own freedom.

The Throne of Glass series is one of THE most popular fantasy series and has several parallels to Fourth Wing that readers will love and enjoy. That’s why Fourth Wing is also on my list of books like Throne of Glass!

Related: Throne of Glass Series Order: The Complete Guide

Divine Rivals is one of the best books like Fourth Wing. Check out the entire list of books like Fourth Wing on She Reads Romance Books.

Divine Rivals
by Rebecca Ross

After centuries of sleep, the gods are battling again. But eighteen-year-old Iris Winnow just wants to hold her family together.

Her mother is suffering from addiction and her brother is missing from the front lines. Her best bet is to win the columnist promotion at the Oath Gazette.

To combat her worries, Iris writes letters to her brother and slips them beneath her wardrobe door, where they vanish—into the hands of Roman Kitt, her cold and handsome rival at the paper.

When he anonymously writes Iris back, the two of them forge a connection that will follow Iris all the way to the front lines of battle: for her brother, the fate of mankind, and love.

Divine Rivals is another young adult fantasy romance that is taking the romance book world by storm and fans of Fourth Wing are finding it just as captivating!

It too draws on the enemies to lovers trope where two rivals at the paper compete for a position and yet slowly fall for one another.

You’ll love this book like Fourth Wing even if you’re not normally a fantasy reader but love historical fiction, mythology, and young love!

Check out my book review of Divine Rivals.

Related: Divine Rivals Series: The Complete Guide

An Ember in the Ashes is one of the best books like Fourth Wing. Check out the entire list of books like Fourth Wing on She Reads Romance Books.

An Ember in the Ashes
by Sabaa Tahir

Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free.
 
Under the Martial Empire, defiance will end your life. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution of their loved ones and the destruction of all they hold dear.
 
It is in this brutal world, inspired by ancient Rome, that Laia lives with her grandparents and older brother.

The family ekes out an existence in the Empire’s impoverished backstreets. They do not challenge the Empire. They’ve seen what happens to those who do.
 
But when Laia’s brother is arrested for treason, Laia is forced to make a decision.

In exchange for help from rebels who promise to rescue her brother, she will risk her life to spy for them from within the Empire’s greatest military academy.
 
There, Laia meets Elias, the school’s finest soldier—and secretly, its most unwilling.

Elias wants only to be free of the tyranny he’s being trained to enforce. He and Laia will soon realize that their destinies are intertwined—and that their choices will change the fate of the Empire itself. 

This is a book like Fourth Wing because it follows two characters who meet in a military academy and who both actually want the same thing – in this case, the end of the tyrannical Empire.

Its themes ring very similar to Violet and Xaden meeting at the Riders Quadrant and soon recognizing that they actually have a lot in common once she gets to know the secrets Xaden is hiding.

Check it out if you like stories about two people looking for justice and finding that they can be the agents of change.

The Serpent and the Wings of Night is one of the best books like Fourth Wing. Check out the entire list of books like Fourth Wing on She Reads Romance Books.

The Serpent and the Wings of Night
by Carissa Broadbent

The adopted human daughter of the Nightborn vampire king, Oraya carved her place in a world not meant for her kind.

Her only chance to become something more than prey is entering the Kejari: a legendary tournament held by the goddess of death herself.

But winning won’t be easy amongst the most vicious warriors from all three vampire houses. To survive, Oraya is forced to make an alliance with a mysterious rival.

Everything about Raihn is dangerous. He is a ruthless vampire, an enemy to her father’s crown… and her greatest competition.

Yet, what terrifies Oraya most of all is that she finds herself oddly drawn to him.

But there’s no room for compassion in the Kejari. Battle for the House of Night brews, shattering everything that Oraya thought she knew about her home.

And Raihn may understand her more than anyone – but their blossoming attraction could be her downfall, in a kingdom where nothing is more dangerous than love.

What’s not to love about this book like Fourth Wing that has so many similarities!?

You’ve got an unassuming, underrated heroine, a competition that pits her against those trained to end her and a connection brewing with another that she least expected!

I also love that everything Oraya thought she knew is turned on its head which I have a feeling Violet will understand more and more as we get further in the Fourth Wing series.

Related: Best Vampire Romance Books

Dragon Bound is one of the best books like Fourth Wing. Check out the entire list of books like Fourth Wing on She Reads Romance Books.

Dragon Bound
by Thea Harrison

Half-human and half-wyr, Pia Giovanni spent her life keeping a low profile among the wyrkind and avoiding the continuing conflict between them and their Dark Fae enemies.

But after being blackmailed into stealing a coin from the hoard of a dragon, Pia finds herself targeted by one of the most powerful—and passionate—of the Elder races.
 
As the most feared and respected of the wyrkind, Dragos Cuelebre cannot believe someone had the audacity to steal from him, much less succeed.

And when he catches the thief, Dragos spares her life, claiming her as his own to further explore the desire they’ve ignited in each other.
 
Pia knows she must repay Dragos for her trespass, but refuses to become his slave—although she cannot deny wanting him, body and soul.

Of course, if you want to read another book like Fourth Wing, you want it to have dragons! But what about an alpha hero who shapeshifts into a dragon?!

Dragon Bound was one of the first fantasy romance books I ever read and it hooked me on the genre for life.

I fell not only for Dragos and Pia but also for the other wyrkind and secondary characters that made up Dragos’ inner circle just as I fell for the secondary characters in Fourth Wing like Liam.

Check out my review of Dragon Bound.

Related: Best Paranormal Romance Books

A Promise of Fire is one of the best books like Fourth Wing. Check out the entire list of books like Fourth Wing on She Reads Romance Books.

A Promise of Fire
by Amanda Bouchet

Cat Fisa isn’t who she pretends to be. She’s perfectly content living disguised as a soothsayer in a traveling circus, avoiding the destiny the Gods—and her dangerous family—have saddled her with.

As far as she’s concerned, the magic humming within her blood can live and end with her. She won’t be a pawn in anyone’s game.

But then she locks eyes with an ambitious warlord from the magic-deprived south and her illusion of safety is shattered forever.

Griffin knows Cat is the Kingmaker—the woman who divines truth through lies—and he wants her to be a powerful weapon for his newly conquered realm.

Kidnapping her off the street is simple enough, but keeping her by his side is infuriatingly tough. Cat fights him at every turn, showing a ferocity of spirit that burns hot…and leaves him desperate for more.

But can he ever hope to prove to his once-captive that he wants her there by his side as his equal, his companion…and maybe someday, his Queen?

I absolutely devoured this book because I loved the back-and-forth banter between Cat and Griffin much like the banter between Violet and Xaden in Fourth Wing.

Considering that Griffin kidnaps her, it too is definitely an enemies to lovers story which is why Cat was fighting her feelings for him so hard.

If you loved the snark between Violet and Xaden, especially when they were “talking” telepathically, then you’ll love A Promise of Fire!

Check out my review of A Promise of Fire.

Related: Best Forced Proximity Romance Books

The Prison Healer is one of the best books like Fourth Wing. Check out the entire list of books like Fourth Wing on She Reads Romance Books.

The Prison Healer
by Lynette Noni

Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years fighting for survival in the notorious prison, Zalindov, working as the prison healer.

When the Rebel Queen is captured, Kiva is charged with keeping the terminally ill woman alive long enough for her to undergo the Trial by Ordeal: a series of elemental challenges against the torments of air, fire, water, and earth, assigned to only the most dangerous of criminals.

Then a coded message from Kiva’s family arrives, containing a single order: “Don’t let her die. We are coming.” 

Aware that the Trials will end the sickly queen, Kiva risks her own life to volunteer in her place. If she succeeds, both she and the queen will be granted their freedom.

But no one has ever survived.

With an incurable plague sweeping Zalindov, a mysterious new inmate fighting for Kiva’s heart, and a prison rebellion brewing, Kiva can’t escape the terrible feeling that her trials have only just begun.

I love how Kiva, the heroine in this story, must shift from healer to competitor just as Violet had to shift from scribe to rider in Fourth Wing.

Both young women step up to face what’s ahead of them even though the odds are truly stacked against their success.

I never tire of a great book with a strong heroine. Don’t miss this!

Divergent is one of the best books like Fourth Wing. Check out the entire list of books like Fourth Wing on She Reads Romance Books.

Divergent
by Veronic Roth

In the world of Divergent, society is divided into five factions – Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful) and Erudite (the intelligent).

Every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives.

Beatrice Prior must choose between staying with her family and being who she really is. Her choice shocks everyone – including herself.

During the initiation that follows, Tris and her fellow initiates undergo extreme tests with devastating consequences.

As initiation transforms them, Tris must determine who her friends really are – and whether she can trust the man who both threatens and protects her.

Because Tris has a secret. And as growing conflict threatens to unravel their seemingly perfect society, this secret might save those she loves … or it might destroy her.

I had to include Divergent on this list of books like Fourth Wing because Beatrice reminds me of Violet in how she surprised people by her choices.

Violet may have been pushed into the Rider Quadrant by her mother but she chose to stay when others thought she would flee.

Beatrice too is an unlikely heroine but she steps up in a big way in this book and series!

Sky in the Deep is one of the best books like Fourth Wing. Check out the entire list of books like Fourth Wing on She Reads Romance Books.

Sky in the Deep
by Adrienne Young

Raised to be a warrior, seventeen-year-old Eelyn fights alongside her Aska clansmen in an ancient, rivalry against the Riki clan.

Her life is brutal but simple: fight and survive. Until the day she sees the impossible on the battlefield—her brother, fighting with the enemy—the brother she watched die five years ago.

Faced with her brother’s betrayal, she must survive the winter in the mountains with the Riki, in a village where every neighbor is an enemy, every battle scar possibly one she delivered.

But when the Riki village is raided by a ruthless clan thought to be a legend, Eelyn is even more desperate to get back to her beloved family.

She is given no choice but to trust Fiske, her brother’s friend, who sees her as a threat.

They must do the impossible: unite the clans to fight together, or risk being slaughtered one by one.

Driven by a love for her clan and her growing love for Fiske, Eelyn must confront her own definition of loyalty and family while daring to put her faith in the people she’s spent her life hating.

Oh boy, the similarities of this book like Fourth Wing but I’ll keep my lips zipped on some of them 😊.

But what I can say is that just as Violet is coming to realize her world is not as it seems, so too does Eelyn realize the same about her world and the rival clan.

Darkest Flame is one of the best books like Fourth Wing. Check out the entire list of books like Fourth Wing on She Reads Romance Books.

Darkest Flame
by Donna Grant

Denae Lacroix is a beautiful MI5 agent on a dangerous mission. Sent to the Scottish Highlands to spy on the mysterious Dreagan Industries, she discovers too late that she’s been set up—as human bait.

She is an irresistible lure for a man who has not seen or touched a woman for centuries. He is a man with a destiny—and a desire—that could destroy them both…

It’s been twelve hundred years since Kellan has walked among humans—and there’s no denying the charged attraction he feels for Denae.

But as a Dragon King, he is sworn to protect his secrets. Yet the closer he gets to this smart, ravishing woman, the more her life is in danger.

All it takes is one reckless kiss to unleash a flood of desire, the fury of dragons…and the fiercest enemy of all.

I loved reading a lot of reviews of Fourth Wing from readers saying that they normally don’t read fantasy but loved the book.

I think Darkest Flame will appeal to those same readers because this book is more like a contemporary fantasy that happens to include a 1200+ year old dragon shapeshifter!

It’s got suspense, Dark Fae, dragon shifting, a change of perspective about humankind, and more.

Related: Best Books With Scottish Heroes

Silver in the Bone is one of the best books like Fourth Wing. Check out the entire list of books like Fourth Wing on She Reads Romance Books.

Silver in the Bone
by Alexandra Bracken

Born without a trace of magic, Tamsin Lark is no match for the sorceresses and Hollowers who populate the magical underground of Boston.

But when the only parent she’s ever known disappears without so much as a goodbye, she has no choice but to join in their cutthroat pursuit of enchanted relics to keep herself—and her brother, Cabell—alive.

Ten years later, rumors are swirling that her guardian found a powerful ring from Arthurian legend just before he vanished.

A run-in with her rival Emrys ignites Tamsin’s hope that the ring could free Cabell from a curse that threatens both of them.

But they aren’t the only ones who covet the ring.

As word spreads, greedy Hollowers start circling, and many would destroy them to have it for themselves.

While Emrys is the last person Tamsin would choose to partner with, she needs all the help she can get to edge out her competitors in the race for the ring.

Together, they dive headfirst into a vipers’ nest of dark magic, exposing a dangerous secret with the power to awaken ghosts of the past and shatter her last hope of saving her brother.

This book offers a different similarity to Fourth Wing which is the focus on sibling relationships.

Violet clearly loves her siblings and Tamsin would do anything for her brother in Silver in the Bone despite not having any magical powers.

She also has to partner up with someone she least expected and Violet and Xaden’s partnership was definitely not expected by them or others at first.

I also love that this story takes place in Boston!

Sing Me to Sleep is one of the best books like Fourth Wing. Check out the entire list of books like Fourth Wing on She Reads Romance Books.

Sing Me to Sleep
by Gabi Burton

Saoirse Sorkova survives on lies. As a soldier-in-training at the most prestigious barracks in the kingdom, she lies about being a siren to avoid execution.

At night, working as an assassin for a dangerous group of mercenaries, Saoirse lies about her true identity.

And to her family, Saoirse tells the biggest lie of all: that she can control her siren powers and doesn’t struggle constantly against an impulse to strike.

As the top trainee in her class, Saoirse would be headed for a bright future if it weren’t for the need to keep her secrets out of the spotlight.

But when a mysterious blackmailer threatens her sister, Saoirse takes a dangerous job that will help her investigate: she becomes personal bodyguard to the crown prince.

Saoirse should hate Prince Hayes. After all, his father is the one who enforces the kingdom’s brutal creature segregation laws.

But when Hayes turns out to be kind, thoughtful, and charming, Saoirse finds herself increasingly drawn to him-especially when they’re forced to work together to stop a danger that’s plaguing the city.

There’s only one problem: Saoirse is that danger.

Truth and lies are a major theme in Sing Me to Sleep which is why it made this list of books like Fourth Wing.

A forbidden romance with an all-Black and Brown cast makes this a must-read if you like young adult fantasy with suspense!

Related Book Lists:

More Books Like Lists:

Pin This for Later:

Discover the best books like Fourth Wing if you can't get enough of this young adult fantasy romance on She Reads Romance Books.

Leslie Murphy is the owner and writer of She Reads Romance Books.

Why Trust She Reads Romance Books?

Leslie is the founder, writer, and producer of She Reads Romance Books (and the She Reads Romance Books Podcast), an online book community focused on romance books and the readers who love them because life is better with a love story.

Leslie reads 150 romance books a year and has been called a "book expert" by CNN. Reading romance is her passion and she cultivates her book lists with the best books worth reading in the genre. Leslie graduated magna cum laude from Davidson College where she honed her writing skills and also holds two Master's degrees. Join her community in the She Reads Romance Books Reader Lounge.

Take the book quiz to discover who you ideal book boyfriend is and get the perfect book recommendation for you from She Reads Romance Books.

2 thoughts on “15 Books Like Fourth Wing to Get Your Fantasy Fix”

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

About | Work With Me | Subscribe | Blogging | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Disclaimer

She Reads Romance Books helps romance book lovers find their next book boyfriend because life is better with a love story.