20+ Books Like Bridgerton You’ll Devour If You Love This Series

Looking for more books like Bridgerton to devour? Whether you’ve become obsessed with the Bridgerton books or just hoping to fill the time until the next season of the Bridgerton TV series, these are the must-read books like Bridgerton that all fans will enjoy.

Even if historical romance isn’t normally your genre of choice, I’ve got historical AND contemporary romance book recommendations that offer storylines just like the Bridgerton books.

*Disclosure: This post may include affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

The Best Books Like Bridgerton to Love

There is honestly so much to love about the Bridgerton books that make this historical romance series stand out among the rest.

From its family focus to its dashing heroes and strong heroines, you’re going to love this list of books like Bridgerton.

Below you’ll find books in an entire historical romance series as well as standalone books, both historical and contemporary, that have similar storylines to each of the books in the Bridgerton series.

And if you’ve yet to read all the Bridgerton books, check out my list of the Bridgerton books in order so you don’t miss a single novel or its related works and prequels, plus my list of all Julia Quinn books in order.

Historical Romance Books Like Bridgerton with a Family Focus

Cold Hearted Rake is one of the best books like Bridgerton if you loved that series. Check out the entire list of books like Bridgerton on She Reads Romance Books.

Cold Hearted Rake
by Lisa Kleypas

The Ravenels is another historical romance series to devour that takes you back to London’s high society where women of strong will meet their match in the men who fall for them.

It follows a noble family in Victorian London where matches are found and made for the siblings and relatives of the Ravenel family.

The series kicks off with Cold Hearted Rake where Devon Ravenel unexpectedly inherits an earldom from his cousin. The estate however also comes with the late earl’s three sisters and a young widow who catches the attention of the notorious rake.

Slightly Married is one of the best books like Bridgerton if you loved that series. Check out the entire list of books like Bridgerton on She Reads Romance Books.

Slightly Married
by Mary Balogh

The Bedwyn Saga follows six siblings and their road to finding love while managing high society and courting scandal.

This historical romance series starts with Slightly Married, featuring the second son, Aidan Bedwyn who’s loyalty drives him to honor a dying soldier’s wish to protect his sister. His protection turns into a marriage of convenience that gradually moves from a business arrangement to a love match.

Historical Romance Books Like Bridgerton with Strong Heroines and Dashing Heroes

Secrets of a Summer Nights is one of the best books like Bridgerton if you loved that series. Check out the entire list of books like Bridgerton on She Reads Romance Books.

Secrets of a Summer Night
by Lisa Kleypas

Lisa Kleypas dazzles with this glorious historical series where four young ladies enter London society with one necessary goal: use their feminine wit and wiles to find a husband.

So they band together, and a daring husband-hunting scheme is born—one that will undeniably change their lives forever.

The Wallflower series starts with Secrets of a Summer Night featuring Annabelle whose family is on the brink of disaster and it’s up to her to save them and marry a wealthy man.

Lady Derring Takes a Lover is one of the best books like Bridgerton if you loved that series. Check out the entire list of books like Bridgerton on She Reads Romance Books.

Lady Derring Takes a Lover
by Julie Anne Long

This is a sweeping historical romance series where strong heroines and dashing heroes carve out their own destinies and happily-ever-afters at The Grand Palace on the Thames.

The Palace of Rogues series begins with Lady Derring Takes a Lover featuring Delilah Swanpoole, Countess of Derring, who inherits the grand ruins of a building her late husband left her, sparking her liberation. And she vows never again to place herself at the mercy of a man.

Bringing Down the Duke is one of the best books like Bridgerton if you loved that series. Check out the entire list of books like Bridgerton on She Reads Romance Books.

Bringing Down the Duke
by Evie Dunmore

Immerse yourself in the time period of Victorian England with this historical romance series where women are out to change the world.

A League of Extraordinary Women follows the extraordinary suffragists ready to take on the world and end up finding love in the process.

In the first novel, Bringing Down the Duke, Annabelle Archer, a vicar’s daughter, takes on a Duke to change the British social order and support the women’s suffragist movement.

Regency Romance Books Like Bridgerton

The Duchess Deal is one of the best books like Bridgerton if you loved that series. Check out the entire list of books like Bridgerton on She Reads Romance Books.

The Duchess Deal
by Tessa Dare

The Girl Meets Duke series is the perfect series to read if you have a thing for Dukes.

It begins with The Duchess Deal when the Duke of Ashbury returns from war, and his sole focus is an heir and for that he needs a wife.

When he meets the vicar’s daughter, he proposes a deal to which she proposes her own stipulations, never imagining the result would be finding love.

A Rogue By Any Other Name is one of the best books like Bridgerton if you loved that series. Check out the entire list of books like Bridgerton on She Reads Romance Books.

A Rogue by Any Other Name
by Sarah MacLean

If you love historical romances with scandals, you’ll love MacLean’s Rules of Scoundrels series which features four scandals whispered about in ballrooms across Britain, four aristocrats exiled from society, now royalty in the London underworld, and four loves powerful enough to tame the darkness and return these fallen angels to the light.

It begins with the Marquess of Bourne in A Rogue by Any Other Name who was cast from society with nothing but his title.

Now a partner in London’s most exclusive gaming hell, the cold, ruthless Bourne will do whatever it takes to regain his inheritance—including marrying perfect, proper Lady Penelope Marbury.

Standalone Historical Romance Books Like Bridgerton

Here are some Regency Era historical romance books like Bridgerton to enjoy if you’re looking for a standalone read:

Mr. Malcolm's List is one of the books like Bridgerton recommended by romance book blogger, She Reads Romance Books.

Mr. Malcom’s List
by Suzanne Allain

The Honourable Mr. Jeremy Malcolm is searching for a wife, but not just any wife.

He’s determined to avoid the fortune hunters and find a near-perfect woman, one who will meet the qualifications on his well-crafted list.

But after years of searching, he’s beginning to despair of ever finding this paragon. Until Selina Dalton arrives in town.

Selina, a vicar’s daughter of limited means and a stranger to high society, is thrilled when her friend Julia Thistlewaite invites her to London, until she learns it’s all part of a plot to exact revenge on Mr. Malcolm.

Selina is reluctant to participate in Julia’s scheme, but when Mr. Malcolm begins judging Selina against his unattainable standards, Selina decides that she has some qualifications of her own.

And if he is to meet them he must reveal the real man behind…Mr. Malcolm’s List.

If you love to see a book come to life on the big or small screen like Bridgerton, then put this on your must-read list because it was made into a movie in 2022!

If you loved Bridgerton Season 2, then you’ll enjoy this book which gives me similar vibes to The Viscount Who Loved Me.

Just as Anthony was set on finding a suitable wife, Mr. Malcolm is determined to find the ideal wife who must meet a list of criteria.

I adore that it’s the heroine of the stories that turn these men on their heads and show them what they actually are looking for.

Reputation is a historical romance book like Bridgerton worth reading if you devoured the Bridgerton series.

Reputation
by Lex Croucher

Abandoned by her parents, bookish and sheltered Georgiana Ellers is spending the summer with her stodgy aunt and uncle at their home in the English countryside.

At a particularly dull party, she meets the enigmatic Frances Campbell, a wealthy member of the in-crowd who delights Georgiana with her disregard for so-called “polite society.”

Lonely and vulnerable, Georgiana quickly falls in with Frances and her wealthy, wild, and deeply improper friends.

One, in particular, stands out from the rest: Thomas Hawksley, who has a tendency to cross paths with Georgiana in her most embarrassing moments. Sparks fly, but Thomas seems unimpressed with the company she is keeping.

And soon, Georgiana begins to wonder whether she’ll ever feel like she fits in, or if the price of entry into Frances’s gilded world will ultimately be higher than she is willing to pay.

If you’re looking for a Regency romance that has a more modern, feminist feel, then this is your book.

It definitely has more of a young adult feel with characters struggling with excess, patriarchy, peer pressure, and privilege, as opposed to a strict historical romance but that’s what sets it apart.

Be sure to also check out the next installment in this series, Infamous, which has a storyline between two close friends like Eloise and Penelope in the Bridgerton series.

Aphrodite and the Duke is one of the books like Bridgerton recommended by romance book blogger, She Reads Romance Books.

Aphrodite and the Duke
by J.J. McAvoy

Aphrodite Du Bell has always found it hard to live up to the goddess of beauty she’s named after despite being praised for her good looks.

Especially since her renowned loveliness didn’t stop the love of her life from jilting her and marrying another woman four years ago.

When Aphrodite’s mother summons her back to London to aid in her sister’s debut, she is determined to ignore Evander Eagleman, the Duke of Everely, the man who devastated her all those years ago.

But now that he is an unattached widower, Evander is determined to win back Aphrodite’s trust and her hand in marriage.

Though Evander’s true reason for rejecting Aphrodite threatens their coveted future and even their lives.

I love the diversity in this Regency romance which is what I loved best about the adaptation of The Viscount Who Loved Me for season 2 of the Bridgerton TV series.

Grab this historical romance for its diversity and beautiful second chance romance story.

A Lady's Guide to Fortune-Hunting is one of the books like Bridgerton recommended by She Reads Romance Books.

A Lady’s Guide to Fortune-Hunting
by Sophie Irwin

To save her family from ruin, Kitty Talbot must find a husband who has a fortune, and she has only twelve weeks to do it.
 
She knows that the London season is her only chance at playing the game and finding their salvation only she doesn’t anticipate Lord Radcliffe.

The worldly Radcliffe sees Kitty for the mercenary fortune-hunter that she really is and is determined to scotch her plans at all costs, until their parrying takes a completely different turn.

If you love The Duke and I, then you’ll love this book like the first of the Bridgerton series.

Kitty reminds me of Daphne in that she is the eldest and knows that she has to find a good match in a husband to help her family.

Lord Radcliffe also reminds me of Simon in that they both struggle with their inner demons and fall for the strong-willed heroine.

Pride and Prejudice is one of the books like Bridgerton recommended by romance book blogger, She Reads Romance Books.

Pride and Prejudice
by Jane Austen

Elizabeth Bennet, is the second of five sisters who are all unmarried. When a wealthy and sociable young gentleman, Charles Bingley, rents the nearby manor of Netherfield Park the opportunity to find husbands presents itself.

While attending a ball the Bennets meet Charles Bingley and his friend Fitzwilliam Darcy for the first time.

While Charles and Jane, Elizabeth’s older sister, form a quick friendship, Fitzwilliam comes across as overly prideful with little interest in Elizabeth by refusing to dance with her.

In the weeks that follow Elizabeth and Darcy find themselves repeatedly forced into each other’s company allowing Elizabeth to overcome the prejudice of her first impression and open herself up to the idea of a once in a lifetime romance. 

If you haven’t yet read the most famous Regency romance novel, then now is a great time to do so!

Plus, it’s another book you can then watch on the big or small screen though I’m torn as to whether I like the Colin Firth series or the Matthew Macfayden movie better!

I also loved the family focus of this novel which reminds me of the close-knit Bridgertons.

Contemporary Romance Books Like Bridgerton

The Bridgerton series has so many great romance book tropes weaved throughout the novels including fake relationship, enemies to lovers, single parent, marriage of convenience, friends to lovers and more.

If you love these storylines but want to check them out in a contemporary romance book, I’ve matched contemporary titles with each Bridgerton book below!

The Duke and I is one of the best historical romance novels worth reading
The Last Eligible Billionaire is one of the books like Bridgerton recommended by romance book blogger, She Reads Romance Books.

The Last Eligible Billionaire
by Pippa Grant

Emotionally unavailable doesn’t even begin to describe my new fake boyfriend.

My job’s simple: Keep Hayes Rutherford’s matchmaking relatives and all interested ladies away from the cranky, grumpy heir, and in return, he won’t ruin my life over a teensy, tiny little misunderstanding.

But the more I sneak past Hayes’s walls and fences, the more I realize that while we might be from different worlds, we have more in common than either of us expected.

This billionaire romance has the perfect fake relationship set up as The Duke and I since Hayes is looking to hold off the willing ladies wanting to marry him just as Simon was hoping to ward off the ladies of the ton interested in making a match.

Of course, the best thing about fake relationship romances is the moment that both main characters begin to realize that their feelings are more real than fake – I love it!

The Viscount Who Loved Me is one of the best historical romance novels. Check out all the books like Bridgerton in this book list.
Brutal Vows is one of the books like Bridgerton recommended by romance book blogger, She Reads Romance Books.

Brutal Vows
by J.T. Geissinger

Reyna won’t allow her innocent niece to suffer the same way she did.

So if the arrogant Irish mobster her brother sold her niece to thinks she’s going to play nice over their arranged marriage contract, he should think again.

Spider is supposed to marry sweet, beautiful Lili. So why can’t he stop thinking about her swamp witch of an aunt? Reyna who hates him. Reyna who challenges him.

Nothing good can come of what he’s feeling for a woman who’s not the one in the wedding contract he signed.

A woman he wants so much, he’ll have to burn the whole world down to get. If she doesn’t end him first.

If you loved the enemies to lovers vibe in The Viscount Who Loved Me, then you’ll love this steamy read from Geissinger.

Just as Kate is determined to stop the marriage between Anthony and her sister, Reyna will do anything to keep her niece from marrying Spider in this mafia romance.

Both heroines are such headstrong, independent women who I adore. Plus, the sparks between these supposed enemies in each book are HOT! My review of Brutal Vows.

An Offer From a Gentleman is one of the best historical romance novels. Check out all the books like Bridgerton in this book list.
That Swoony Feeling is one of the books like Bridgerton recommended by romance book blogger, She Reads Romance Books.

That Swoony Feeling
by Meghan Quinn

Brig Knightly is painfully single while the rest of his brothers have already paired off into coupledom bliss.

He’s tried to find the one but he’s plagued by that wretched curse.

Luckily the town has started a new pen pal program and he’s hit it off with his mysterious writer.

The only problem – he’s been hanging out with Ruth Barber, his new work neighbor, and he’s getting that swoony feeling for both women.

OMG, how I loved Brig Knightly who is such a romantic and desperate to find love. But he feels the joke is on him because he’s finding himself falling for two women – Ruth and his mystery pen pal.

An Offer From a Gentleman is one of my all-time favorite romance books because I loved Benedict’s struggle in falling for two “different” women.

If you love friends to lovers or slow burn romance books, you’ll love this contemporary book like Bridgerton’s An Offer From a Gentleman. My review of That Swoony Feeling.

Romancing Mr. Bridgerton is one of the best historical romance novels. Check out all the books like Bridgerton in this book list.
Make Me Hate You is one of the books like Bridgerton recommended by romance book blogger, She Reads Romance Books.

Make Me Hate You
by Kandi Steiner

I remember the first time I kissed my best friend’s brother, seven years ago before I left this town and vowed never to return.

I remember the pain when he rejected me, so I stayed away from Tyler Wagner, putting an entire country between us.

But when his sister’s wedding brings us back to the same town, to the same house, I can’t avoid him, no matter how hard I try.

Now, hours before our plus ones arrive for the wedding, I’m in his arms, begging him to make me hate him, knowing he never could.


I don’t think anything was more devastating than the scene Penelope witnesses with Colin and his pals at the end of Bridgerton season 2.

In Romancing Mister Bridgerton, Penelope is confronted with her unrequited crush on her best friend’s brother, Colin Bridgerton, when he returns from his travels abroad.

If you loved the angst of this friends to lovers story, then you’ll want to grab this contemporary romance by Steiner.

I love how Jasmine had her heart broken by her best friend’s brother, like Penelope, but she’s the one who returns home after time away from her small town and finds her feelings still just as strong.

To Sir Phillip With Love is one of the best historical romance novels. Check out all the books like Bridgerton in this book list.
Down Too Deep is one of the books like Bridgerton recommended by romance book blogger, She Reads Romance Books.

Down Too Deep
by J. Daniels

When Nathan lost his wife, he let his parents raise his baby girl while he lost himself in his restaurant.

But when his parents give him an ultimatum to step up, he needs to find childcare fast.  

Jenna is happy to watch Nate’s little girl, and the more time she and her two kids spend with Nate and his daughter, the more she can’t help but fall for the family they seemed to be building.

I thought this was such a perfect match for To Sir Phillip, With Love because it features another single dad who has tragically lost his wife and is in desperate need of help in raising his child.

Unlike single Eloise, Jenna too is a single parent just trying to do right with her young children and wants to help Nathan in any way she can.

I loved their connection and know you’ll enjoy it if you loved Eloise’s story. My review of Down Too Deep.

When He Was Wicked is one of the best historical romance novels. Check out all the books like Bridgerton in this book list.
From This Moment by Melanie Harlow is one of the books like Bridgerton that you should read if you enjoyed the series.

From This Moment
by Melanie Harlow

When my late husband’s twin brother moves back to our small town, I want to avoid him.

Everything about Wes reminds me of the man I lost and the life we’d planned together, and after eighteen long months struggling, I’m finally doing okay.

I have a new job, an amazing support group, and a beautiful five-year-old daughter to parent. I don’t want to go backward.

But I’m drawn to him, too. He understands my grief and anger and guilt like no one else, but soon that understanding becomes desire, and that desire becomes uncontrollable.

He says he doesn’t care what people think, and love can never be wrong. But life has taught me its cruelest lesson, love doesn’t always win.


Francesca does not get enough book time in the Bridgerton series in my opinion which is why I loved When He Was Wicked so much. Or, maybe because I loved Michael so much as well 😊

In Harlow’s contemporary romance, Hannah is a widow who’s still struggling with her loss. Her late husband’s twin has always loved her (and met her before his brother!) but it was his shyness that lost her to his brother.

I loved the similarities between these two books so much they are the perfect slow burn romances!

Its In His Kiss is one of the best historical romance novels. Check out all the books like Bridgerton in this book list.
Beard Science is one of the books like Bridgerton recommended by romance book blogger, She Reads Romance Books.

Beard Science
by Penny Reid

Jennifer Sylvester wants one thing, and that one thing is NOT to be Tennessee’s reigning Banana Cake Queen.

Ever the perpetual good girl and obedient daughter, Jennifer is buckling under the weight of her social media celebrity, her mother’s ambitions, and her father’s puritanical mandates.

Jennifer is officially desperate. And desperate times call for Cletus Winston.

Cletus Winston is a puzzle wrapped in a mystery covered in conundrum sauce, and now he’s in a pickle.

Despite being convinced of his own omniscience, extortion by the exalted Banana Cake Queen of Green Valley has taken him completely by surprise. So…what’s a maniacal mastermind to do?

A great match to It’s In His Kiss is one with great banter, a bit of mystery, and some shenanigans which Beard Science has and more!

I loved how Jennifer had a goal she was determined to achieve and she used (ok, blackmailed) Cletus to do so just as Gareth was pretty desperate to achieve his goal of saving his future with the diary.

Hyacinth was supposedly best in small doses, and maybe you’d say the same about Cletus, and yet he is just too awesome for words.

On the Way to the Wedding is one of the best historical romance novels. Check out all the books like Bridgerton in this book list.
The Deal is one of the books like Bridgerton recommended by romance book blogger, She Reads Romance Books.

The Deal
by Elle Kennedy

Hannah Wells has finally found someone who turns her on. But while she might be confident in every other area of her life, she’s lacking when it comes to intimacy and seduction.

If she wants to get her crush’s attention, she’ll have to step out of her comfort zone and make him take notice – even if it means tutoring the annoying, childish, cocky captain of the hockey team in exchange for a pretend date.

All Garrett Graham has ever wanted is to play professional hockey after graduation, but his plummeting GPA is threatening everything he’s worked so hard for.

If helping a sarcastic brunette make another guy jealous will help him secure his position on the team, he’s all for it.

But when one unexpected kiss leads to the wildest night of both their lives, it doesn’t take long for Garrett to realize that pretend isn’t going to cut it.

Now he just has to convince Hannah that the man she wants looks a lot like him.

This is such a popular college romance because it’s that good and totally reminds me of the love story between Gregory and Lucy in On the Way to the Wedding.

In both books, it’s a case of helping out someone who’s vying for the attention of someone else, only for the helper to fall desperately in love with them! Gah!

I love this storyline so much and The Deal does it so well.

Related Book Lists:

More “Books Like” Lists:

Pin This for Later:

Discover the best books like Bridgerton to read if you devoured this historical romance series. She Reads Romance Books gives you historical and contemporary romance books like Bridgerton that you'll love reading.
Leslie Murphy is the owner and writer of She Reads Romance Books.

Why Trust She Reads Romance Books?

Leslie is the founder, writer, and producer of She Reads Romance Books (and the She Reads Romance Books Podcast), an online book community focused on romance books and the readers who love them because life is better with a love story.

Leslie reads 150 romance books a year and has been called a "book expert" by CNN. Reading romance is her passion and she cultivates her book lists with the best books worth reading in the genre. Leslie graduated magna cum laude from Davidson College where she honed her writing skills and also holds two Master's degrees. Join her community in the She Reads Romance Books Reader Lounge.

Join the She Reads Romance Books Book Club!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

About | Work With Me | Subscribe | Blogging | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Disclaimer

She Reads Romance Books helps romance book lovers find their next book boyfriend because life is better with a love story.