19 Books Like Red, White and Royal Blue to Get Your Fix

Check out this list of the best books like Red, White and Royal Blue if you loved Casey McQuiston’s debut novel.

These books will satisfy your need for an epic love story like that between Prince Henry and Alex.

Whether it’s the enemies to lovers angle, the LGBTQ+ focus, or the look at royalty and politics, these books will satisfy that itch for more books like Red, White and Royal Blue.

*Disclosure: I participate in the Amazon Affiliates program so if you click an affiliate link and make a purchase, I make a small commission at no extra cost to you.

Discover all of the best books like Red, White & Royal Blue if you loved this debut novel from Casey McQuiston and want to read even more books like it.

It takes a lot for a book to make my best romance novels of all-time list but it was no contest that Casey McQuiston’s debut novel, Red, White and Royal Blue was taking a spot after I finished reading it.

This book has it all – amazing writing, a unique and heartfelt storyline, and wonderful characters who fall in love in the most epic way.

I know I’m not the only one who loved this novel given that it won Best Debut and Best Romance in the 2019 Goodreads Choice Awards and instantly became a New York Times and USA Today bestseller.

Because it is THAT good, I wanted to read more books just like it which I share below! But first, I’m here to share some additional Red, White & Royal Blue news:

Red, White and Royal Blue Collector’s Edition

A special Collector's Edition of Red, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston is releasing in October 2022.
Picture from Amazon

Fans will be excited to learn that a special Collector’s Edition of Red, White and Royal Blue will be available as of October 11, 2022 in hardcover featuring illustrated endpapers, an all new Henry-POV chapter, and more.

You definitely want to snatch this up for your bookshelf!

Red, White and Royal Blue Movie

Did you know that Red, White and Royal Blue is being made into a movie?! Yep! And I am SO excited to see this romance book come alive on the big screen.

As of September 2022, no release date has been set but production is underway with Director Matthew Lopez at the helm. It stars Nicholas Galitzine, who I adore, as Prince Henry and Taylor Zakhar Perez as Alex Claremont-Diaz.

Red, White & Royal Blue is being made into a movie and the actors for Henry and Alex have been cast.
Image from IMDB

Red, White and Royal Blue Summary

For those who aren’t familiar with this romance book or need a refresher, here’s a summary from the publisher:

When his mother became President, Alex Claremont-Diaz was promptly cast as the American equivalent of a young royal.

Handsome, charismatic, genius―his image is pure millennial-marketing gold for the White House. There’s only one problem: Alex has a beef with the actual prince, Henry, across the pond.

And when the tabloids get hold of a photo involving an Alex-Henry altercation, U.S./British relations take a turn for the worse.

Heads of family, state, and other handlers devise a plan for damage control: staging a truce between the two rivals.

What at first begins as a fake, Instragramable friendship grows deeper, and more dangerous, than either Alex or Henry could have imagined.

Soon Alex finds himself hurtling into a secret romance with a surprisingly unstuffy Henry that could derail the campaign and upend two nations and begs the question: Can love save the world after all?

Where do we find the courage, and the power, to be the people we are meant to be? And how can we learn to let our true colors shine through?

Casey McQuiston’s Red, White & Royal Blue proves: true love isn’t always diplomatic.

Pin This for Later:

Discover all of the best books like Red, White & Royal Blue if you loved this debut novel from Casey McQuiston and want to read even more books like it.
Don’t miss these books like Red, White and Royal Blue!

Romance Tropes in Red, White and Royal Blue

There’s so much to love about this romance novel including some very popular romance book tropes that McQuiston weaves so well into this story.

The recommendations below of books like Red, White and Royal Blue include many of these tropes as well.

MM Romance

Of course, at its center is a beautiful gay romance story between Henry and Alex. It is a must-read in MM romance and I think it has helped launch even more LGBTQ+ titles in the genre.

Enemies to Lovers

It’s always hard to pick ONE favorite romance book trope but enemies to lovers may be it.

I love how Red, White and Royal Blue starts off as this epic enemies to lovers tale that implodes in both Alex and Henry’s faces when the tabloids get wind of their latest altercation.

Fake Relationship

Fake relationship is another favorite romance book trope because I love the moment when the “faking” starts to become so real for both partners in the relationship.

Given the unwanted press of Alex and Henry’s altercation, the two unwillingly embark on a “fake friendship” as damage control for both the monarchy and Presidency.

Opposites Attract

The saying that opposites attract is so true when it comes to Alex and Henry in Red, White and Royal Blue. Alex is loud, the life of the party and a bit manic. He’s born to be a politician.

Henry on the other hand is more reserved, controlled, quiet and a lover of literature. When this man quotes lovers in literature, my heart just stopped.

Royal Romance

What is it about royals that we love to follow and dream about?

I love how the British monarchy and the roles and responsibilities (and burden) that goes along with being a member of the royal family is showcased so well in Henry’s character.

Political Romance

Can you really make politics or the American Presidency romantic? Well McQuiston can, and while the political themes aren’t overwhelming in this book, I loved her look at a woman running for President.

The Best Books Like Red, White and Royal Blue

If you’re like me and have already reread Red, White and Royal Blue and are looking for more books with similar vibes, then the books below are for you.

These are books with similar romance book tropes and storylines that will have you drawing parallels to Red, White and Royal Blue between rereads of this amazing book.

Do YOU have a suggestion for any books like Red, White and Royal Blue? Do share them in the comments below!

Boyfriend Material is one of the best books like Red, White & Royal Blue to read if you loved the debut novel by Casey McQuiston.

Boyfriend Material
by Alexis Hall

Why This Book is Like Red, White and Royal Blue:

  • Gay Romance
  • British Men
  • Bad Publicity
  • Fake Relationship
  • Opposites Attract

One compromising photo too many puts Luc’s job in jeopardy. His one chance at redemption turns out to be a fake relationship with a respectable boyfriend to clean up his image.

That “job” falls to Oliver Blackwood, a barrister, who is the opposite of Luc in every way.

But the thing about fake-dating is that it can feel a lot like real-dating. And that’s when you get used to someone. Start falling for them. Don’t ever want to let them go.

If you want another opposites attract, gay romance, then look no further than Hall’s Boyfriend Material.

While Luc is admittedly more of a trainwreck than either Henry or Alex, I love how he proposes a fake relationship with the straight-laced Oliver to help him overcome some bad publicity and save his job.

Luc is also the one with a great friend cohort like Alex who provide some comic relief and a great sounding board for the man when he needs it. My Review.

Playing the Palace is one of the best books like Red, White & Royal Blue to read if you loved the debut novel by Casey McQuiston.

Playing the Palace
by Paul Rudnick

Why This Book is Like Red, White and Royal Blue:

  • Gay Romance
  • Royal Romance
  • Relationship in the Spotlight
  • American Dates a Prince

After having his heart trampled on by his cheating ex, Carter Ogden is afraid love just isn’t in the cards for him.

He still holds out hope in a tiny corner of his heart, but even in his wildest dreams he never thought he’d meet the Crown Prince of England, much less do a lot more with him. 

Yes, growing up he’d fantasized about the handsome, openly gay Prince Edgar, but who hadn’t?

When they meet by chance at an event Carter’s boss is organizing, Carter’s sure he imagined all that sizzling chemistry. Or was it mutual?

This unlikely but meant-to-be romance sets off media fireworks on both sides of the Atlantic. 

With everyone having an opinion on their relationship and the intense pressure of being constantly in the spotlight, Carter finds ferocious obstacles to his Happily Ever After, including the tenacious disapproval of the Queen of England.

Carter and Price Edgar fight for a happy ending to equal their glorious international beginning. It’s a match made on Valentine’s Day and in tabloid heaven.

What won’t you love about another romance book where love is found between an American and the Prince of Wales?

While Carter is just a lonely event planner and not the son of a politician, he creates just as much of an uproar when the sparks start to fly with the Prince.

Love, Hate & Clickbait is one of the best books like Red, White & Royal Blue to read if you loved the debut novel by Casey McQuiston.

Love, Hate & Clickbait
by Liz Bowery

Why This Book is Like Red, White and Royal Blue:

  • Fake Relationship
  • Political Focus
  • Gay Romance

Cutthroat political consultant Thom Morgan is thriving, working on the governor of California’s presidential campaign.

If only he didn’t have to deal with Clay Parker, the infuriatingly smug data analyst who gets under Thom’s skin like it’s his job.

In the midst of one of their heated and very public arguments, a journalist snaps a photo, but the image makes it look like they’re kissing.

The photo goes viral—and in a bid to secure the liberal vote, the governor asks them to lean into it. Hard.

Thom will grin and bear this challenge, but as staffers push the boundaries of “giving the people what they want,” the animosity between them blooms into something deeper and far more dangerous: desire.

Soon their fake relationship is hurtling toward something very real, which could derail the campaign and cost them both their jobs…and their hearts.

This book combines two of my most favorite tropes: enemies to lovers and fake relationship just like Red, White and Royal Blue.

If you liked the presidential race theme to Red, White and Royal Blue, then you’ll enjoy this one as well where love is found on the campaign trail between political consultant and data analyst.

Royally Matched is one of the best books like Red, White & Royal Blue to read if you loved the debut novel by Casey McQuiston.

Royally Matched
by Emma Chase

Why This Book is Like Red, White and Royal Blue:

  • Royal Romance
  • Opposites Attract
  • Pressure from the Monarchy

Henry, Prince of Wessco is not happy with the responsibility that has just been thrust on him.

Perhaps that’s why he just signed up for a reality TV dating show.

While twenty beautiful women vie for his attention, it’s the quiet girl in the corner that catches his attention.

This romance book also made my best romance novels of all-time list because it’s that good.

It’s another romance (with a Henry no less!) between a royal who is feeling the pressure of the monarchy to be and act a certain way who falls for a commoner who is his opposite in each and every way.

 Sarah and Henry’s unorthodox meet cute and relationship development occurs in the secret moments they have with each other much like Henry and Alex in Red, White and Royal Blue.

Both Sarah and Henry also have to navigate cameras in their faces – literally while filming a dating show – and after. I cannot recommend this book enough which has one of the best endings I’ve ever read.

American Royals is one of the best books like Red, White & Royal Blue to read if you loved the debut novel by Casey McQuiston.

American Royals
by Katharine McGee

Why This Book is Like Red, White and Royal Blue:

  • Royal Romance
  • Pressure of the Throne
  • Cast of Characters

When America won the Revolutionary War, its people offered General George Washington a crown. Two and a half centuries later, the House of Washington still sits on the throne.

Like most royal families, the Washingtons have an heir and a spare. Each child knows exactly what is expected of them. But these aren’t just any royals. They’re American.

As Princess Beatrice gets closer to becoming America’s first queen regnant, the duty she has embraced her entire life suddenly feels stifling.

Nobody cares about the spare except when she’s breaking the rules, so Princess Samantha doesn’t care much about anything, either except the one boy who is distinctly off-limits to her.

And then there’s Samantha’s twin, Prince Jefferson. Most of America adores the handsome prince, but two very different girls are vying to capture his heart.

If you like romances with royalty, why not take a spin with this book that reimagines history where America is a monarchy.

Since this book focuses on two daughters of the Washington family and two additional girls who intertwined with the royal family, you get multiple looks at love and romance, and political posturing and pressure.

Hate Crush is one of the best books like Red, White & Royal Blue to read if you loved the debut novel by Casey McQuiston.

Hate Crush
by Angelina M. Lopez

Why This Book is Like Red, White and Royal Blue:

  • Royal Romance
  • Fake Relationship

Ten years ago, Princesa Sofia Maria Isabel de Esperanza y Santos fell in fast crazy love with Aish Salinger during one California harvest season.

Now the success of her winery and the future of her country depends on her ability to fake a relationship with the now-famous rock star who broke her heart.

This is another fake relationship romance where both parties are in need of good press.

Princesa Sofia needs her winery to take off and Aish is in desperate need of good publicity to recover from a scandal.

This romance is perfect for a bit of diversity and one that does not include an American.

Her Royal Happiness is one of the best books like Red, White & Royal Blue to read if you loved the debut novel by Casey McQuiston.

Her Royal Happiness
by Lola Keeley

Why This Book is Like Red, White and Royal Blue:

  • Royal Romance
  • LGBTQ+ Romance
  • Opposites Attract
  • Fake Relationship

When tabloid darling Princess Alice, the first out member of the British royal family, meets an opinionated single mother, the encounter goes viral.

It seems the anti-monarchist education specialist Sara has a view on all things and doesn’t mind sharing.

So when Alice later has to ask Sara to help diagnose her young nephew’s learning difficulties, it’s seriously awkward. At least until they discover how beautifully they click together.

With the press sniffing around them, and Alice desperately wanting to protect her nephew’s privacy, they agree to claim they’re dating.

But as their fake dates start to feel like much more, Sara and Alice must navigate having a real relationship in the public eye.

Is that even possible, though, while keeping Sara’s daughter safe and happy, and facing the Queen’s disapproval?

Can they overcome their doubts for love? A love they can no longer hide?

How about a fake relationship romance between a royal and commoner but one between two lesbians?

This book sounds like the perfect match to Red, White and Royal Blue where two apparent opposites fall madly in love all the while pretending to date to appease the press. I cannot wait to check it out.

American Royalty is one of the best books like Red, White & Royal Blue to read if you loved the debut novel by Casey McQuiston.

American Royalty
by Tracey Livesay

Why This Book is Like Red, White and Royal Blue:

  • Royal Romance
  • Opposites Attract
  • American/British Couple

Rapper Danielle “Duchess” Nelson is on the verge of signing a deal that’ll make her one of the richest women in hip hop.

But an incident with a rising pop star has gone viral, unfairly putting her deal in jeopardy.

A brilliant professor and reclusive royal, Prince Jameson prefers life out of the spotlight. But with the Queen’s children involved in one scandal after another, she puts Jameson in charge of a tribute concert in her late husband’s honor.

Out of his depth, he takes the advice of a student and signs “Duchess” for the gig who’s anxious for the good publicity.

Too late, Jameson discovers the American rapper is popular, raunchy and not what the Queen wanted, although he’s having an entirely different reaction.

Thrown together, they give in to the attraction flaring between them. But as the glare of the limelight intensifies and outside forces try to interfere, will the Prince and Duchess be a fairy tale romance for the ages or a disaster of palatial proportions?

Henry and Alex and Harry and Meghan aren’t the only Amerian/British royal couples causing a sensation in the media.

Livesay gives us Duchess and Jameson, an American, Black female rapper and a Prince who’s also a professor in this wonderful, opposites attract romance that brings some steam! My Review.

Everything For You is one of the best books like Red, White & Royal Blue to read if you loved the debut novel by Casey McQuiston.

Everything for You
by Chloe Liese

Why This Book is Like Red, White and Royal Blue:

  • Gay Romance
  • Opposites Attract
  • Forbidden Romance
  • Enemies to Lovers

We’ve been teammates for two years, but it feels like a lifetime that Oliver Bergman’s been on my last nerve.

A demanding captain and veteran player, I’m feared and friendless, while he’s the beloved rising star, all sunshine smiles and upbeat team spirit.

But when Coach notifies us that we’re now co-captains, avoiding him becomes impossible, and keeping the truth from him–let alone my distance–is harder than ever.

This MM romance features two men on the same sports team so it’s a bit of a forbidden romance just as Prince Henry falling for Alex, the son of the President across the pond.

It’s also a fantastic opposites attract love story with a strong enemies to lovers vibe that I know you’ll love just as much as I did.

The Charm Offensive is one of the best books like Red, White & Royal Blue to read if you loved the debut novel by Casey McQuiston.

The Charm Offensive
by Alison Cochrun

Why This Book is Like Red, White and Royal Blue:

  • Gay Romance
  • Opposites Attract
  • Life in the Spotlight
  • Men Shouldering Burdens

Dev Deshpande has always believed in fairy tales, which is why he loves working on the reality dating show Ever After. But this season may be his toughest yet, when disgraced tech wunderkind Charlie Winshaw is cast as its star.

Charlie doesn’t believe in true love, and only agreed to the show as a last-ditch effort to rehabilitate his image.

In front of the cameras, he’s a stiff, anxious mess with no idea how to date twenty women on national television. Behind the scenes, he’s cold, awkward, and emotionally closed-off.

As Dev fights to get Charlie to connect with the contestants on a whirlwind, worldwide tour, they begin to open up to each other, and Charlie realizes he has better chemistry with Dev than with any of his female co-stars.

But even reality TV has a script, and in order to find to happily ever after, they’ll have to reconsider whose love story gets told.

This MM romance was one of my favorite books of 2021! This debut novel is such a sweet slow burn between two opposites.

Considering Dev and Charlie meet on a reality TV show, it’s hard to keep their growing feelings a secret but I loved how they both share their emotional burdens with each other in such thoughtful ways similar to Henry and Alex.

Don’t miss this book! My Review.

The Spanish Love Deception is one of the best books like Red, White & Royal Blue to read if you loved the debut novel by Casey McQuiston.

The Spanish Love Deception
by Elena Armas

Why This Book is Like Red, White and Royal Blue:

  • Fake Relationship
  • Enemies to Lovers
  • Pining

Catalina Martin is in a bind. She does NOT want to show up single at her sister’s wedding with her ex in attendance and his new fiancé.

Nor does she want to take up her infuriating co-worker’s offer to travel to Spain and be her fake boyfriend. Yet she really has no choice but to take up the charade.

This book also has a lot of the same romance tropes as Red, White and Royal Blue including enemies to lovers and fake relationship, but it was the slow burn that made this so perfect.

I also love enemies to lovers books where it becomes obvious that one main character has it bad for the other and has secretly pined for them all along.

If you loved that aspect of Red, White, and Royal Blue then you’ll really enjoy this one.

Written in the Stars is one of the best books like Red, White & Royal Blue to read if you loved the debut novel by Casey McQuiston.

Written in the Stars
by Alexandria Bellefleur

Why This Book is Like Red, White and Royal Blue:

  • Fake Relationship
  • LGBTQ+ Romance

Darcy is tired of her brother trying to fix her up, so after a disastrous blind date with Elle, his coworker, she fibs and tells him that they were a match.

Elle is ready to find her soul mate but she’s assured that it is not Darcy who couldn’t be more opposite to the care-free astrologer.

But when she finds out that Darcy lied to her brother saying that they are now dating, she somehow agrees to Darcy’s plan to fake date through the holidays.

And the more these two spend time with one another, it appears love may be written in the stars for these two opposites after all.

This is another opposites attract story where fake dating brings the two characters together.

Though instead of a prince and politician, this loveable romance features a quirky astrologer and a straight-laced actuary.

I loved this well-written, debut novel and couldn’t put it down. My Review.

Her Royal Highness is one of the best books like Red, White & Royal Blue to read if you loved the debut novel by Casey McQuiston.

Her Royal Highness
by Rachel Hawkins

Why This Book is Like Red, White and Royal Blue:

  • Royal Romance
  • LGBTQ+ Romance
  • Enemies to Lovers

Millie Quint is devastated when she discovers that her sort-of-best friend/sort-of-girlfriend has been kissing someone else.

Heartbroken and ready for a change, Millie decides to apply for scholarships to boarding schools, the farther from Houston the better.

Soon, Millie is accepted into one of the world’s most exclusive schools, located in the rolling highlands of Scotland.

The only problem: Mille’s roommate Flora is an actual princess of Scotland.

At first, the girls can’t stand each other, but before Millie knows it, she has another sort-of-best-friend/sort-of-girlfriend.

Princess Flora could be a new chapter in her love life, but Millie knows the chances of happily-ever-afters are slim because real life isn’t a fairy tale, or is it?

While this book fits more in the young adult romance camp, it blends royal romance and enemies to lovers just like Red, White and Royal Blue but with two women.

It’s also perfect for fans of roommates to lovers stories which are so fun to read!

Someday Someday is one of the best books like Red, White & Royal Blue to read if you loved the debut novel by Casey McQuiston.

Someday Someday
by Emma Scott

Why This Book is Like Red, White and Royal Blue:

  • Gay Romance
  • Opposites Attract
  • Family Pressure

Max has spent that last ten years rebuilding his life after being kicked out by his family for being gay.

He’s survived addiction and living on the streets so he should be able to handle working as a nurse for an ailing billionaire.

He just didn’t expect the spark he felt upon meeting the billionaire’s son who he soon learns is hiding secrets in order to inherit his family’s fortune. 

I fully admit that Prince Henry utterly and completely stole my heart in Red, White and Royal Blue. I felt the pressure and control he was buckling under to hide his true self from his royal family and the world.

I equally fell for Silas in this billionaire romance as he too was suffering under the family pressure to hide his identity and the man who he truly is.

This is such a moving, opposites attract love story that I won’t soon forget. My Review.

If This Gets Out is one of the best books like Red, White & Royal Blue to read if you loved the debut novel by Casey McQuiston.

If This Gets Out
by Sophie Gonzales and Cale Dietrich

Why This Book is Like Red, White and Royal Blue:

  • Gay Romance
  • Hidden Relationship

Eighteen-year-olds Ruben Montez and Zach Knight are two members of the boy-band Saturday, one of the biggest acts in America.

Along with their bandmates, Angel Phan and Jon Braxton, the four are teen heartthrobs in front of the cameras and best friends backstage.

But privately, the pressure to stay in the closet has Ruben confiding in Zach.

On a whirlwind tour through Europe with an unrelenting schedule and minimal supervision, the two come to rely on each other more and more, and their already close friendship evolves into a romance.

But when they decide they’re ready to tell their fans and live freely, Zach and Ruben realize they will never truly have the support they need.

How can they hold tight to each other when their whole world is coming apart?

I don’t think I can ever truly understand the pressure of fame and how it might also really limit someone as well as open doors. Such a crazy dichotomy.

While Prince Henry and Alex have to maneuver their feelings in light of public opinion, so too do Zach and Ruben in this MM romance.

If you’re looking for a similar book to Red, White and Royal Blue that features teenage rock stars, then give this one a go.

Beautiful Bastard is one of the best books like Red, White & Royal Blue to read if you loved the debut novel by Casey McQuiston.

Beautiful Bastard
by Christina Lauren

Why This Book is Like Red, White and Royal Blue:

  • Enemies to Lovers
  • Forbidden Romance

Bennett has returned to Chicago from France to take a vital role in his family’s massive media business.

He never expected that the assistant who’d been helping him from abroad was the gorgeous, innocently provocative–completely infuriating–creature he now has to see every day.

Despite the rumors, he’s never been one for a workplace hookup. But Chloe’s so tempting he’s willing to bend the rules–or outright smash them–if it means he can have her. All over the office. 

As their appetites for one another increase to a breaking point, Bennett and Chloe must decide exactly what they’re willing to lose in order to win each other. 

While not an LGBTQ+ romance, I can definitely see some similarities to this popular Christina Lauren book with Red, White and Royal Blue.

Bennett and Chloe may not be part of a royal or political family but they do work together, making their instant chemistry and resulting fling a similar, forbidden romance.

Their verbal sparring at the beginning is also reminiscent of Henry and Alex’s altercations which only added fuel to their attraction.

The Love Hypothesis is one of the best books like Red, White & Royal Blue to read if you loved the debut novel by Casey McQuiston.

The Love Hypothesis
by Ali Hazelwood

Why This Book is Like Red, White and Royal Blue:

  • Fake Relationship
  • Opposites Attract

As a third-year Ph.D. candidate, Olive Smith doesn’t believe in lasting romantic relationships–but her best friend does, and that’s what got her into this situation.

Trying to convince Anh that she is indeed dating, Olive kisses the first man she sees – Adam Carlsen, a young hotshot professor–and well-known ass.

Adam surprisingly agrees to keep her dating charade a secret and be her fake boyfriend.

But when a big science conference goes haywire, putting Olive’s career on the Bunsen burner, Adam surprises her again with his unyielding support and even more unyielding…six-pack abs.

In case you haven’t yet read this #Booktok favorite, it’s the perfect fake relationship, opposites attract romance that will give you all the feels like Red, White and Royal Blue.

Just as Henry and Alex are thrown together in a fake friendship after an oops moment, so too are Olive and Adam after she goes and kisses him in front of her friend.

Of course, it’s being along for the ride as feelings become known in these slow burn romances that make them my absolute favorites.

This is a must-read!

Related Book Lists:

Take the book quiz to discover who you ideal book boyfriend is and get the perfect book recommendation for you from She Reads Romance Books.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

About | Shop | Quizzes | Book Blogging | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Disclaimer

She Reads Romance Books helps romance book lovers find their next book boyfriend because life is better with a love story.