Fourth Wing Series Order: The Ultimate Guide to the Popular Fantasy Series

Are you obsessed with the Fourth Wing series like I am?! OMG, even readers who don’t normally like reading fantasy romance are devouring Fourth Wing and are chomping at the bit for the release of the rest of the books in the Fourth Wing series – and yes, there are more to come!

Fourth Wing is Rebecca Yarros’ first fantasy romance book and she’s plotted out four more books to finish the series.

Fourth Wing already made my list of best romance books of 2023 and I cannot wait to see what I think of Iron Flame and the rest of the series as they unfold.

But for now, discover all the books in the Fourth Wing series (also known as The Empyrian series), in this complete guide to the widely popular young adult fantasy romance series.

Below you will find all the Fourth Wing series books in order plus frequently asked questions about the series.

*Disclosure: This post may include affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

Fourth Wing Series Books in Order:

Fourth Wing Series Books in Order With Publisher Descriptions:

Fourth Wing is book one in the Fourth Wing series by Rebecca Yarros. Check out the complete guide to the Fourth Wing series (The Empyrian series) on She Reads Romance Books.

Fourth Wing
by Rebecca Yarros

Fourth Wing Series Book 1
My Review of Fourth Wing

Twenty-year-old Violet Sorrengail was supposed to enter the Scribe Quadrant, living a quiet life among books and history.

Now, the commanding general―also known as her tough-as-talons mother―has ordered Violet to join the hundreds of candidates striving to become the elite of Navarre: dragon riders.

But when you’re smaller than everyone else and your body is brittle, the end of your life is only a heartbeat away…because dragons don’t bond to “fragile” humans. They incinerate them.

With fewer dragons willing to bond than cadets, most would take out Violet to better their own chances of success.

The rest would end her just for being her mother’s daughter―like Xaden Riorson, the most powerful and ruthless wingleader in the Riders Quadrant.

She’ll need every edge her wits can give her just to see the next sunrise.

Yet, with every day that passes, the battle outside grows more dangerous, the kingdom’s protective wards are failing, and the ledger of those lost continues to rise.

Even worse, Violet begins to suspect leadership is hiding a terrible secret.

Iron Flame in the Fourth Wing series by Rebecca Yarros. Check out the complete guide to the Fourth Wing series (The Empyrian series) on She Reads Romance Books.

Iron Flame
by Rebecca Yarros

Fourth Wing Series Book 2

Everyone expected Violet Sorrengail to die during her first year at Basgiath War College—Violet included. But Threshing was only the first impossible test meant to weed out the weak-willed, the unworthy, and the unlucky.

Now the real training begins, and Violet’s already wondering how she’ll get through. It’s not just that it’s grueling and maliciously brutal, or even that it’s designed to stretch the riders’ capacity for pain beyond endurance.

It’s the new vice commandant, who’s made it his personal mission to teach Violet exactly how powerless she is–unless she betrays the man she loves.

Although Violet’s body might be weaker and frailer than everyone else’s, she still has her wits—and a will of iron.

And leadership is forgetting the most important lesson Basgiath has taught her: Dragon riders make their own rules.

But a determination to survive won’t be enough this year. Because Violet knows the real secret hidden for centuries at Basgiath War College—and nothing, not even dragon fire, may be enough to save them in the end

Frequently Asked Questions About the Fourth Wing Series:

Who is the Author of the Fourth Wing Series?

Rebecca Yarros is the author of Fourth Wing series. She is also the author of The Things We Leave Unfinished and the Fight & Glory series and the Renegade series.

Will There Be a Sequel for Fourth Wing?

Yes, there will be a sequel to Fourth Wing, book two in the Fourth Wing series called Iron Flame.

Fourth Wing ended on a bit of a cliffhanger so be sure to check out Iron Flame which releases in November 2023 as the sequel to Fourth Wing.

How Many Books Are in the Fourth Wing Series?

There will be a total of five books in the Fourth Wing series according to Rebecca Yarros.

The whole five-book series is plotted out though as of May 2023 there is one book published, Fourth Wing, with Iron Flame (book two) set to release in November 2023.

There are no release dates set yet for the rest of the Fourth Wing series.

What is the Fourth Wing Series About?

The Fourth Wing series follows Violet Sorrengail, daughter of the commanding general who becomes a dragon rider despite the odds stacked against her.  

Rebecca Yarros has indicated that the entire Fourth Wing series deals with the theme of history: Who’s allowed to tell our history, and what happens when only people in power are the ones who record our history.

Is Fourth Wing Worth It?

Yes! As someone who read and reviewed Fourth Wing, I can honestly say that it’s so worth reading this amazing young adult fantasy romance book.

It was initially really hard to get a copy of Fourth Wing to read so readers were asking if Fourth Wing was really worth reading and I can honestly say it’s worth all the hype.

Even readers who don’t normally read fantasy are enjoying this book so give it a read!

What is the Age Rating for the Fourth Wing Series?

The age rating for the Fourth Wing series is 18+ as there are steamy scenes but it is up to viewer discretion.

Are There More Books Like Fourth Wing?

Yes! If you loved Fourth Wing for its strong heroine, silent alpha male, enemies to lovers storyline, or amazing worldbuilding then you’ll love the books on my list of books like Fourth Wing!

Related Book Lists:

More Books in Order Lists:

Check out all of the Books in Order book lists from She Reads Romance Books to discover all of your favorite authors' works and favorite series.

Discover all the BOOKS IN ORDER Lists!

With so many beloved authors and popular romance book series to read, you want to make sure you never miss a book and read them in the right order.

Check out all of my BOOKS IN ORDER posts for even more of these great lists!

Pin This for Later:

Check out the ultimate guide to the Fourth Wing series by Rebecca Yarros on She Reads Romance Books if you love fantasy romance series.

Take the book quiz to discover who you ideal book boyfriend is and get the perfect book recommendation for you from She Reads Romance Books.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

About | Work With Me | Subscribe | Blogging | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Disclaimer

She Reads Romance Books helps romance book lovers find their next book boyfriend because life is better with a love story.