10 Books Like The Idea of You to Cure Your Book Hangover

If you’re looking for more books like The Idea of You by Robinne Lee after finishing this popular book or after watching the movie with Anne Hathaway and Nicholas Galitzine then this is the list for you!

Whether it’s a rock star romance you’re craving or an age gap romance with an older woman and younger man or a forbidden romance, these books like The Idea of You give you options of everything you love about this story.

Put these on your must-read list and then share your recommendations in the comments below!

*Disclosure: This post may include affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

The Best Books Like The Idea of You to Read Next

Close is one of the best books like The Idea of You.

Close
by Laurelin Page

Everyone wants to get close to a rock star. The bright lights. The music. Those talented fingers strumming… a guitar. Everyone wants to bang a rock star. So why do I keep running from the one who wants me?

I’m America’s Sweetheart. I have a reputation. He’s a boy-band icon turned rock god. I’m vanilla. He’s every flavor of bad. And he’s much, much too young for me. If I end up in Nick Ryder’s bed, my career and I will both be screwed…but that’s only if I’m caught.

Why It’s Like The Idea of You: This should definitely be your next book if you love The Idea of You because it is about a young pop star turned rocker who falls for the older woman.

Nick is 23 leaving a thirteen year age gap between him and Natalia, the actress fresh off a breakup with a fellow actor who is trying to maintain her image at all costs. The two start a secret affair that is off the charts steamy! Be sure to add this to your TBR list.

Reverse is one of the best books like The Idea of You.

Reverse
by Kate Stewart

Thirty years ago, my father became the other half of a broken love story. A relationship he’s kept hidden for decades. Upon unearthing his secret through a series of emails in our paper’s archives, I began my search for the truth.

Haunted by my father’s love story, and in my quest for answers, I never imagined I would discover a love of my own. Or that my love for Easton Crowne would be key in discovering the reason behind what split our parents up.

Doomed from the start and knowing the havoc our relationship would inevitably wreak on our families, I could never have prepared for the toll it would take or the cost of the truth. But in order to find our ending, we had to go back to their beginning.

My name is Natalie Butler, and this is my star-crossed love story.

Why It’s Like The Idea of You: If you loved The Idea of You because it was a story about star-crossed lovers then you are going to devour Reverse. While I highly recommend reading Drive, book one in the Bittersweet Symphony Duet first, this book gives you ALL the angst of two people who fall hard and fast but have a lot to overcome to stay together.

Plus, it features one AMAZING rock star. I challenge you not to fall for Easton! You are definitely going to also want to listen to Kate’s accompanying playlist while reading this book.

Check out my book review of Reverse.

If This Gets Out is one of the best books like The Idea of You.

If This Gets Out
by Sofia Gonzales and Cale Dietrich

Eighteen-year-olds Ruben Montez and Zach Knight are two members of the boy-band Saturday, one of the biggest acts in America. Along with their bandmates, Angel Phan and Jon Braxton, the four are teen heartthrobs in front of the cameras and best friends backstage.

But privately, the pressure to stay in the closet has Ruben confiding in Zach. On a whirlwind tour through Europe with an unrelenting schedule and minimal supervision, the two come to rely on each other more and more, and their already close friendship evolves into a romance.

But when they decide they’re ready to tell their fans and live freely, Zach and Ruben realize they will never truly have the support they need. How can they hold tight to each other when their whole world is coming apart?

Why It’s Like The Idea of You: If you loved The Idea of You because of the boy band focus then this is the book for you.

Just as Solene and Hayes had to deal with the negative sides of fame and the scrutiny of the paparazzi and crazy fans, Zach and Ruben have to as well all while dealing with the effects of coming out in the public eye. Read this one for your boy band fix!

The Pool Boy is one of the best books like The Idea of You.

The Pool Boy
by Nikki Sloane

Nothing says happy birthday like catching your husband in a compromising position with his boss. His male boss. Why, hello, midlife crisis. I’m starting over, but this time I’m doing it right. Or at least I’m doing what I want.

Taking the day off from work to hang out poolside? Yup. Do I leave the swimsuit in my house? Sure. Does my very hot, twenty-something pool boy happen to catch me naked? Oh, yeah, he does. And he likes what he sees… a lot.

My best friend keeps telling me to have a fling and get back out there. But I’m not so sure she meant for me to do it with her son.

Why It’s Like The Idea of You: This is the book to read after The Idea of You if you want another forbidden, age gap romance with an older woman and younger man.

Erika is 42 when she falls for her best friend’s son who she gets pretty hot and heavy with – especially in the poolside shower.

Plus, Erika is in the music industry with Troy and up and coming singer so this book will give you your fix for young musicians as well!

Backstage Pass is one of the best books like The Idea of You.

Backstage Pass
by Olivia Cunning

When psychologist Myrna Evans goes on tour with the Sinners to study groupie behavior, every guy in the band tries to seduce her. But the lead guitarist is the only one she wants to get her hands on, even if getting involved with him is all kinds of forbidden.

Brian Sinclair has been grappling with a creative block—unable to compose music for months. But when he tumbles into bed with the uninhibited Myrna, he hears exquisite guitar riffs and finger-burning solos in his mind in the midst of their passionate embraces.

He grabs a ballpoint pen and composes what will be blockbuster new songs, writing them all over her body and leading to some fun sex play…but how is he going to convince Myrna that he’s not looking for a one-tour score? Instead, this rocker’s interested in finding his forever.

Why It’s Like The Idea of You: Solene may jump from city to city to meet up with Hayes in The Idea of You but Myrna hitches a ride to go on tour with the popular group Sinners in this must-read rock star romance.

This is one steamy read that kicks off an entire series of hot romance books that feature each member of the band and their kinkiness.

Sweet as Sin is one of the best books like The Idea of You.

Sweet as Sin
by J.T. Geissinger

Twenty-something Kat Reid is loving life as an in-demand Hollywood makeup artist. She has absolutely no interest in rock ‘n’ roll, but in order to pay the mortgage, she agrees to work on the set of a rock video for the world-famous rockers known as Bad Habit…which brings her face-to-face with Nico Nyx, lead singer of Bad Habit and Adonis in the flesh.

However, the fiercely independent Kat isn’t impressed by the hard-living, womanizing rock star. But when Nico’s model girlfriend shows up to the set drunk and Kat is tapped to replace her as the video’s hot bride, her combustible chemistry with Nico suddenly threatens to consume the set.

Nico feels it, too–and becomes determined to win Kat over, body and soul. Yet behind his rock god swagger, Nico hides a dark secret. Can he rock Kat’s world forever, or will he just break her heart?

Why It’s Like The Idea of You: Sweet as Sin is book one in one of my favorite rock star romance book series so be prepared to read this and all of the books featuring members of the band.

This book is like The Idea of You because it focuses on a rock star whose life is lived in the public eye but who would like to keep his relationship out of it.

It’s also about a woman who wants nothing to do with the fame her rock star brings but she can’t help but fall for him. I love all of Geissinger’s books and this one is one of her best.

When It's Real is one of the best books like The Idea of You.

When It’s Real
by Erin Watt

Under ordinary circumstances, Oakley Ford and Vaughn Bennett would never even cross paths. There’s nothing ordinary about Oakley. This bad-boy pop star’s got Grammy awards, millions of fangirls and a reputation as a restless, too-charming troublemaker.

But with his home life disintegrating, his music well suddenly running dry and the tabloids having a field day over his outrageous exploits, Oakley needs to show the world he’s settling down—and who better to help him than Vaughn, a part-time waitress trying to help her family get by? The very definition of ordinary.

Posing as his girlfriend, Vaughn will overhaul Oakley’s image from troublemaker to serious artist. In return for enough money to put her brothers through college, she can endure outlandish Hollywood parties and carefully orchestrated Twitter exchanges. She’ll fool the paparazzi and the groupies. She might even start fooling herself a little.

Because when ordinary rules no longer apply, there’s no telling what your heart will do.

Why It’s Like The Idea of You: This book is slightly different than The Idea of You however it features a hot pop star and the realities of fame for that stardom. I love books where the celebrity falls for the “plan Jane” as he never sees her coming.

This author duo knows how to pack a punch with their young adult and new adult romances and this one is no different!

Halo is one of the best books like The Idea of You.

Halo
by Booke Blaine and Ella Frank

Massive world tours. Over a hundred million albums sold. Groupies galore.
Every day is a party for Viper and the guys of TBD, the biggest rock band in the world. But it all comes to a screeching halt when the lead singer walks out of the studio one day and never comes back.

After months of lackluster auditions, time’s running out and the pressure’s on to find a new singer, but it isn’t until an angel walks through the door that the band’s prayers are answered.

Halo is everything they’ve been looking for. With a voice to match his stunning good looks, it isn’t long before Viper, the band’s lead guitarist, is taking notice. Only it’s always a bad idea to mix business with pleasure and the minor fact that Halo is straight.

As both men try to resist the fire blazing between them, and the band is forced to reinvent themselves, something beautiful is born. Something better. And when the world finally sees Halo stretch his wings, they’ll discover what it’s like to fall for an angel.

Why It’s Like The Idea of You: This is hands down one of the hottest books I’ve ever read and one of the best rock star series you’ll ever want to pick up.

While this is a MM romance, unlike The Idea of You, it features not one but two hot musicians who have chemistry in spades. I could re-read this book over and over gain I love it so much!

Full Tilt is one of the best books like The Idea of You.

Full Tilt
by Emma Scott

Kacey Dawson has always lived life on the edge–impulsively, sometimes recklessly. And now, as lead guitarist for a hot up-and-coming band, she is poised at the brink of fame and fortune.

But she is torn between wanting to be a serious musician, and the demons that lure her down the glittering, but alcohol-soaked path of rock stardom.

A wrecked concert in Las Vegas threatens to ruin her career entirely. She wakes up with the hangover from hell and no memory of the night before, or how she ended up on her limo driver’s couch.

Jonah Fletcher is running out of time. He knows his situation is hopeless, and he’s vowed to make the most of the handful of months he has left to him.

His plans include seeing the opening of his glass installation at a prestigious art gallery…they do not include falling in love with a wild, tempestuous rock musician who wound up passed out on his couch.

Jonah sees that Kacey is on a path to self-destruction. He lets her crash with him for a few days to dry out and get her head on straight. But neither of them expected the deep connection they felt, or how that connection could grow so fast from friendship into something more.

Something deep and pure and life-changing…something as fragile as glass, that they both know will shatter in the end no matter how hard they try to hold on to it.

Why It’s Like The Idea of You: This is another book that is a bit different but equally as deserving on your must-read list. Scott’s books never fail to bring on a whole string of emotions and this is surely a book to make you ugly cry.

Like The Idea of You, it features a young rock star and an artist only this artist is one who makes masterpieces out of glass and drives a limo part-time. Just prepared to read it with a box of tissues.

Rockstar is one of the best books like The Idea of You.

Rockstar
by Lauren Rowe

Violet was lights and darks, swirled together. Music in motion. And all of it while looking like a hitwoman at an Elvis convention. I had nothing to offer the intriguing girl but a one-night stand.

I figured I’d revel in my last night of anonymity before my first tour and shoot her a quick “We’ll always have L.A.!” goodbye the next morning.

But nothing went according to plan. In one night, Violet crawled under my skin and into my bloodstream. She tattooed her name across my chest and between my legs. She became my muse. And then she was gone.

Now, months later, here she is again. And in a twist I never saw coming, it turns out Violet is ultra-violet radiation. Beautiful, ethereal light bringing with her the promise of damage and destruction.

My brain tells me to walk away from this girl, but my heart can’t stop feeling like she might be one of a kind . . . the sort of girl who comes along once in a violet moon.

Why It’s Like The Idea of You: This book made the list because it features another love story with a rockstar where the timing just isn’t right for two people who have an instant connection.

Can two people who are so opposite in so many ways finally make it work? You’ll just have to read it to find out.

Related Book Lists:

Pin This:

Check out the list of books like The Idea of You from She Reads Romance Books if you are looking for more romance books just like it.
Leslie Murphy is the owner and writer of She Reads Romance Books.

Why Trust She Reads Romance Books?

Leslie is the founder, writer, and producer of She Reads Romance Books (and the She Reads Romance Books Podcast), an online book community focused on romance books and the readers who love them because life is better with a love story.

Leslie reads 150 romance books a year and has been called a "book expert" by CNN. Reading romance is her passion and she cultivates her book lists with the best books worth reading in the genre. Leslie graduated magna cum laude from Davidson College where she honed her writing skills and also holds two Master's degrees. Join her community in the She Reads Romance Books Reader Lounge.

Join the She Reads Romance Books Book Club!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

About | Work With Me | Subscribe | Blogging | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Disclaimer

She Reads Romance Books helps romance book lovers find their next book boyfriend because life is better with a love story.