Book Review: Pride and Papercuts by Staci Hart

*Disclosure: I participate in the Amazon Affiliates program so if you click an affiliate link and make a purchase I make a small commission at no extra cost to you.

Pride and Papercuts  is the latest contemporary romance book from popular romance book author, Staci Hart. This enemies to lovers romance novel is a modern retelling of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice as an office romance. Read the book review from romance book blogger, She Reads Romance Books to see if you’ll find this book worth reading.

Pride and Papercuts
by Staci Hart

Category: Contemporary Romance
Tags:
Enemies to Lovers, Office Romance
Published October 2020

Rating: ★★★★

Amazon | Goodreads

Laney is devoted to her job and she’s not about to let someone talk down to her even if he technically works for her boss – even if his name is Darcy.

Laney Bennett and Liam Darcy are like oil and water and don’t hold back when it comes to expressing how they really feel about each other. Loathe may be a strong word but then again there really is a thin line between love and hate.

Fans of Jane Austen and Pride and Prejudice are going to LOVE this novel!

If you don’t know the underlying premise to Jane Austen’s famous novel, Pride and Prejudice, then you must be living under a rock. Well that may be a bit harsh but most romance readers are familiar with this amazing story about two people whose pride and prejudice keep them from really seeing the person’s true character in front of them.

Staci Hart has tackled what I have to think is one of the hardest things to do – create a modern retelling of this amazing story. Not only did she do it but I think it’s fantastic!

A Fun, Unique Retelling

With any retelling I think it’s important to keep the same semblance of story and similar characters while making it your own.

I love how this book still gives us key players from Pride and Prejudice – Laney aka Elizabeth, Darcy, Darcy’s aunt, Caroline Bingley, Wickham and more.

I also love how the book, despite its modern setting and storyline, gives the reader the same iconic moments between Darcy and Laney where the wrong words are expressed and the wrong sentiments conveyed to set off their prickly start.

Iconic Characters

One of the best parts of this book is the character development. For those readers already familiar with Austen’s story, you’d have to get Darcy’s stoic nature just right while also conveying that there is something likable about him.

I loved Hart’s Darcy and could sense his despair and loneliness through the pages.

Laney was great too and I liked how her story was less about being single and more about finding her purpose.

If anything, I think the angst and attraction could have been played up a bit more, but overall their dance around each other was perfect.

Pride and Papercuts is the fifth book in Hart’s The Austens series but this was my first in the series.

I definitely will have to check out the previous books, but I feel like this can easily be read as a standalone. The backstory regarding the failing flower shop got a bit redundant but that is easily forgivable.

I really enjoyed this book and highly recommend reading it. Hart does a wonderful job retelling this cherished story into a modern office romance so be sure to check it out.

*Thank you to Staci Hart for the advanced reader copy. All opinions are my own.

Lists with This Book:

Don’t Miss a Review

Be sure to like my Facebook page and follow me on Pinterest so you can stay in the know of all the latest when it comes to romance books.

Make sure you don’t miss a single book list or review by joining my email list, and I’ll also give you my list of Top 10 Romance Book Boyfriends!

Save on Books!

Interested in these books and more? Join Kindle Unlimited where you have access to unlimited reading and a HUGE catalogue of romance books to choose from! Just fill up your library and happy reading. Sign up for a free trial of Kindle Unlimited today!

Are audiobooks more your speed? Start a free trial to Audible, your home to unlimited romance audiobook listening.

Also check out my blog post on where to find free romance books!

Never Miss a List!

Subscribe and I'll send you my list of Top 10 Book Boyfriends.

.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

About | Book Blogging | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Disclaimer

She Reads Romance Books helps romance book lovers find their next book boyfriend because life is better with a love story.