10 Books like Butcher and Blackbird That You Should Read Next

Are you obsessed with Butcher and Blackbird? If #Booktok made you read this dark romantic comedy and now you’re craving MORE just like it, I’ve got you covered with this book list of books like Butcher and Blackbird.

*Disclosure: This post may include affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

I totally get it because whenever I finish a book that utterly consumes me I need to read more just like it ASAP which is why I put together this list of books like Butcher and Blackbird to help you cure your book hangover while you wait for the rest of the books in the Ruinous Love Trilogy to release.

There is so much to unpack about Butcher and Blackbird so I included books below that give you a bit of everything there is to love about the best-selling novel.  Whether you’re looking for more books about serials, a pair teaming up for challenges, or more dark romances, these books are sure to satisfy. Happy reading, because life is better with a love story!

Books Like Butcher and Blackbird If You Want More Serials

The Mindf*ck series starting with The Risk is one of the books like Butcher and Blackbird you should read to get over your book hangover.

The Risk (The Mindf*ck Series)
by S.T. Abby

Lana is a woman on a mission: a mission to take out each and every guy that ruined her life ten years ago and enact her revenge in blood and taking lives. Only she didn’t plan on meeting and falling for Logan, the FBI agent trained to hunt and lock up people like her.

Why You’ll Love It if You Liked Butcher and Blackbird: This is my number one pick for books like Butcher and Blackbird because it focuses on a serial taking out the bad guys in the name of revenge and justice. The Mindf*ck series, starting with The Risk, is a dark, romantic thriller that has you on the edge of your seat because while Lana is preparing for and enacting her revenge, Logan is trying to pick apart evidence to find his target all while they are meeting up to get it on. Ah!

Related: Mindf*ck Romance Books You’ll Hate to Love

Still Beating is one of the books like Butcher and Blackbird you should read to get over your book hangover.

Still Beating
by Jennifer Hartmann

After the night of her sister’s birthday party, Cora wakes up in shackles in a madman’s basement but she’s not alone. Her archnemesis, Dean is also in shackles and now the tow must work together to escape. But Cora and Dean have no idea their abductor has a plan for them. A plan that will alter the course of their relationship, blur the line between hate and love, and shackle them together with far more than just chains.

Why You’ll Love It if You Liked Butcher and Blackbird: If Butcher and Blackbird gave you a taste for darker romance books that focus on serials and you want more then this is the book for you to pick up next. It’s an enemies to lovers story with lots of non-consensual acts where two people bond over similar trauma so be forewarned.

Related: Best Dark Romance Books

Black Sheep  is one of the books like Butcher and Blackbird you should read to get over your book hangover.

Black Sheep
by Alexa Harlowe & Brynne Weaver

Bria Brooks is not as she appears. She’s cunning and ruthless and has her heart set on a very elusive prize: Caron Berger. Dr. Elijah Kaplan is also on the hunt for the enigmatic leader of the Legio Agni cult. What he doesn’t need is a beautiful and brutal doctoral student haunting his steps. Especially not one who seems so breakable, or who tempts him to bend every rule until it snaps, or who calls to each of his darkest desires.

When the pursuit of their elusive prey pulls these two hunters together, they find that their demons might not be so different after all. But just like bodies in a bog, secrets have a way of surfacing, and the ones that Bria and Eli keep are the dangerous kind.

Why You’ll Love It if You Liked Butcher and Blackbird: If you loved Butcher and Blackbird why not circle back and read another romance about serials from Weaver? But in this one, you have a doctoral student team up with another to hunt their prey while fighting their own attraction. It’s definitely one to add to your TBR list.

Take the book quiz to discover who you ideal book boyfriend is and get the perfect book recommendation for you from She Reads Romance Books.

Books Like Butcher and Blackbird About Characters Who Team Up Against Evil

Bad Boys Don't Die  is one of the books like Butcher and Blackbird you should read to get over your book hangover.

Bad Boys Don’t Die
by B.B. Easton

Everyone is panicking that the world is about to end but Wes knows that key to his survival is buried somewhere in these woods and he just has to find it before April 23. All he needs are some basic supplies, a place to stay, and a sucker willing to help me out, which is exactly what he thinks he’s found when he rescue a local girl from an angry mob. But with only three days left until the predicted apocalypse Rainbow Williams can’t wait because then her pain will be gone and she’ll no longer have to feel. Society may be crumbling around them and about to end but now they both may have a reason to live.

Why You’ll Love It if You Liked Butcher and Blackbird: I read this dark, dystopian romance about the world at the edge of an apocalypse when it was titled Praying for Rain but I think the new, pretty cover makes it even more enticing! Just be prepared to dig in for a three-part series as it ends on a cliffhanger. It’s worth it though to see these two misfits find each other and then battle to survive the approaching end of the world.

Throne of the Fallen  is one of the books like Butcher and Blackbird you should read to get over your book hangover.

Throne of the Fallen
by Kerri Maniscalco

The Prince of Envy has no choice but to participate in a dangerous game to save his falling demon court. Riddles, hexed objects, anonymous players, nothing will stand in his way, except maybe the frustrating artist who ignites his sin like no other. Envy ends up blackmailing the beautiful Camilla Antonius into joining the game that take them on a journey through the Underworld—from glittering demon courts to the sultry vampire realm and beyond—while trying to avoid the most dangerous trap of all: falling in love.

Why You’ll Love It if You Liked Butcher and Blackbird: Throne of the Fallen was such an intriguing fantasy romance about two characters hiding secrets but forced to work together to win a game and win back the prizes they are so desperate for. I got so wrapped up in this world of Sin and the players they battled that it was hard to put down! If you liked the aspect of Sloane and Rowen working together in Butcher and Blackbird then you’ll love Envy and Camilla!

Related: Best Romantasy Books

Four Psychos  is one of the books like Butcher and Blackbird you should read to get over your book hangover.

Four Psychos
by Kristy Cunning

A no-named, invisible ghost has been watching four men for five years and now she wants to be their new plaything. She just has to become visible and then figure out who or what she is and why she can’t remember anything beyond haunting these guys she can’t get enough of.

Why You’ll Love It if You Liked Butcher and Blackbird: This is another super popular romance book that has fans devouring the entire series. While Keyla may be a ghost, her four roommates aren’t just plain jane humans but are their own supernatural beings with a very interesting job. If you like the unusual in your romance and want to see this group come together as a team and more, jump on the bandwagon.

Related: Best Fantasy Reverse Harem Books

Ruthless People  is one of the books like Butcher and Blackbird you should read to get over your book hangover.

Ruthless People
by J.J. McAvoy

Melody Giovanni and Liam Callahan are rivals by blood and leaders through fear. They both reluctantly agree to an arranged marriage with the goal of ending years of bloodshed between the Irish and the Italians. Liam assumes he’s getting a simple-minded wife, one he can control, one who bends to his every need…he’ll soon find out that his wife to be does not fit that mold. The mafia of the past has evolved, and with rival bosses gunning for their family, Melody and Liam will have to learn to work as one to take down those who stand in their way.

Why You’ll Love It if You Liked Butcher and Blackbird: If you weren’t squeamish with all the bloodshed in Butcher and Blackbird then you’ll have no problems with all that’s shed by Melody and Liam’s hands in Ruthless People. Though these two may be enemies and not friends initially, they join forces through marriage to battle their rivals together and they don’t hold back!

Related: Best Mafia Romance Books

The Blonde Identity  is one of the books like Butcher and Blackbird you should read to get over your book hangover.

The Blonde Identity
by Ally Carter

It’s the middle of the night in the middle of Paris and a woman just woke up with no memory and the hottest guy she has ever seen is standing over her, telling her to run and people keep trying to take her life. She doesn’t know who. Or why. But when she sees footage of herself fighting off a dozen men there’s only one explanation: obviously. . . she’s a spy! Except, according to Mr. Hot Guy, she’s not. She’s a spy’s identical twin sister.

Why You’ll Love It if You Liked Butcher and Blackbird: This book is a fun romcom like Butcher and Blackbird but instead of two serials taking out others, it features a a woman with amnesia and a grumpy operative trying to keep her alive while pretending to be newlyweds on a crazy road trip across Europe. It’s super fun just less dark.

Books Like Butcher and Blackbird If You Like Dark Comedy

Morbidly Yours  is one of the books like Butcher and Blackbird you should read to get over your book hangover.

Morbidly Yours
by Ivy Fairbanks

Callum Flannelly has an aversion to dating, but he can only inherit the family undertaking business under one condition: He must marry before his 35th birthday. When Callum’s new neighbor, Lark Thompson learns of his dilemma, she makes it her mission to help him find The One even though she’s sworn off love after losing her husband.

But spending time with serious, sarcastic Callum starts to crack the ice around Lark’s heart, and the more color Lark brings to Callum’s monochrome existence, the less he can imagine life without her.

Why You’ll Love It if You Liked Butcher and Blackbird: This is another romantic dramedy that became popular with readers on TikTok. It’s definitely one to pick up if you like the lighter side of Butcher and Blackbird and are looking for another romcom that has a nice dose of the morbid.

Related: Best Romcoms Worth Reading

When Life Gives You Vampires  is one of the books like Butcher and Blackbird you should read to get over your book hangover.

When Life Gives You Vampires
by Gloria Duke

When twenty-five year old Lily Baines wakes up with fangs after a little light necking she’s determined to get to the bottom of it. Tristan hadn’t meant to turn Lily, but now they need to team up to save both their lives fending off other vampires, Lily’s work-rival-turned-slayer, and her mother’s tone-deaf romance and fitness advice…all while Lily faces down her insecurities about the fact that she lives in a diet-obsessed world with a body that will never age and never change. 

Why You’ll Love It if You Liked Butcher and Blackbird: This is another romcom like Butcher and Blackbird where two characters team up together but Lily and Tristan aren’t serials, but vampires hoping to survive an ancient vampire Master determine to end them. It also has a strong message of body positivity so give it a read to cure this book hangover!

Related: Best Vampire Romance Books

More Books Like Lists:

Pin This:

If you loved Butcher and Blackbird then don't miss the list of books like Butcher and Blackbird on She Reads Romance Books to cure your book hangover!
Leslie Murphy is the owner and writer of She Reads Romance Books.

Why Trust She Reads Romance Books?

Leslie is the founder, writer, and producer of She Reads Romance Books (and the She Reads Romance Books Podcast), an online book community focused on romance books and the readers who love them because life is better with a love story.

Leslie reads 150 romance books a year and has been called a "book expert" by CNN. Reading romance is her passion and she cultivates her book lists with the best books worth reading in the genre. Leslie graduated magna cum laude from Davidson College where she honed her writing skills and also holds two Master's degrees. Join her community in the She Reads Romance Books Reader Lounge.

Take the book quiz to discover who you ideal book boyfriend is and get the perfect book recommendation for you from She Reads Romance Books.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

About | Work With Me | Subscribe | Blogging | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Disclaimer

She Reads Romance Books helps romance book lovers find their next book boyfriend because life is better with a love story.